Next year I will compete in a Big Mountain Competition!

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

still-kjeringi.jpg
This past weekend a friend challenged me to join a mountain competition, called "Kjeringi Open". It includes a 3 hours randonnée climb before start, then a down-hill section on Telemark/Randonee skis, cross-country section, running section and a mountain bike section.
(photo credit: https://www.skiforbundet.no)

You can see the area in the image below with start on the upper right ending up with the goal to the left.
Loeypetrace_tekst-1.jpg
(Photo credit: http://www.kjeringiopen.no)

Am i fit enough to do it?
N0...

Will I be?
YES!

I asked my friend if we were going to do it together and her answer was "No, we'll compete against each other!". Oh well, that lit a fire in me and I'm determined to beat her...
I've found a scientifically proven fitness program developed by the Norwegian University of Technology and Nature Science that is supposed to make you fit in seven weeks! I started on Monday and had my second workout today. Did I tell my friend about this program? Of course not... Now I'm keeping my strategies to myself :)

kjerigninedkjøering.png
(Photo credit: http://www.kjeringiopen.no)

I know it's in a year, but I've decided to start the training sooner than later. My goal is to be able to enjoy the competition rather than experience it being a nightmare.
It is a fact that the more people you share your goals with, the more likely you are to succeed! Therefore I'm sharing it here...

Here's a little video from the race:

Kjeringi Open 2018 from Mono Media on Vimeo.

And now the best part about this post... I'm challenging my brother @ialokin and cousin @kariofthenorth to take part as well. Are you guys in?

Anyone else out there that think this looks like a great challenge? Maybe a great reason to visit Norway?
Anyway here's more info about it: http://www.kjeringiopen.no/english

I can tell you I'm very exited...

Thanks for reading!

:) Helen

Sort:  

THAT IS SO AWESOME! What great skiing culture! Re-steemed!

Thanks a lot! 🙌

This looks like an INCREDIBLE endeavor! Sounds like you're quite competitive and will fair well after training. And I agree... this looks like a GREAT reason to visit Norway.

You've been upvoted + resteemed by the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. Keep up the great work! 🔥

Thank you! Yes I do feel my competitive instinct becoming stronger and look forward to more traning! There are actually many great reasons to visit Norway, so if you ever get the chance... Thank you for upvote and resteeming! :)

Wow cool, sounds awesome! I guess I first need some cross-country ski experience before signing up for something like this :P

That's the great thing about it, you've got a year to practice! :)

Waouh nice challenge! but it's so sad that your friend wants to compete rather than do it together.. but anyway, good luck Helen :)

Very nice challenge! I'm actually not sad that she wanted to compete because it gave me something to work on. When she said that she wanted to compete I really felt that I'm not going to let her win... That's quite fun! And we'll do the trip and the celebration afterwards together :)

Hvor mange km er de forskjellig etappene?

Står du på Telemark ski du også? Har gjort det siden jeg var liten. Hadde blitt ganske imponert av en jente på Telemark ski. Leeeeenge siden jeg har sett det. Kul hobby.

Lykke til da. Å husk å kos deg med treningen å spis nok.

Har trent til triatlon der jeg sleit med ut psykisk å stressa alt for mye og spiste for lite så var irritert hele tiden.

Hei, nedkjøringen er 8 km med 815 m fallhøyde, langrenn er på 3-6 km (sikkert avhengig av snøforhold), løping 4 km og sykkel 8-10 km.
Ja, jeg står bare på telemark, jeg synes det er absolutt morsomst, spesielt i off-pisten og dyktig på det så den etappen er jeg minst bekymret for...
Ja, skal kose meg med treningen og spiser alltid litt ekstra sunt og godt de dagene jeg trenger.
Uff, ikke bra å være irritert hele tiden, da er det ikke verdt det. Hvordan gikk det på Triatlon da?

Jeg slutta. Dama orka ikke. Begynte med styrke.

Kom opp i 220kg markløft og knebøy og 150 i benk. Men lite nå. Trener sånn passe. Jeg er avhengig personlighet Deluxe så overdriver alt veldig ofte. Så blir ofte for mye av det meste så prøver å holde på med flere ting balansert. Det er kjempe vanskelig for meg. Men klarer det nå. Hehe.

Men jeg var nok i form til å fullføre et lite triatlon med veldig dårlig tid.

Avl.mte 2km plus jogging en time eller sykling to timer. Eller jogging og sykling. Nesten hver dag. Så ble alt for mye.

Starta veldig hardt.

Viktig med 2-3 hviledager. 1 hviledag i uka var alt for lite for meg. Så spiste jeg akkurat på kcal grensa.

hehe, kan kanskje skjønne at dama ikke orket mer hvis du var treningsnarkoman med tendenser til å være irritert hele tiden. Bra du har funnet en balanse nå da. Er helt enig i at man ikke må bikke over, men holde seg til hviledager, samt få i seg nok næring. Jeg ligger foreløpig på tre økter i uken og tenker nok å øke til fire etterhvert. Skulle gjerne gått litt ned i vekt da så jeg var lettere på foten, men foreløpig er fokus på å forberede formen.

Lurt det. Kroppsfokus kan ødelegge psyken din totalt. Been there done that.

wow - very impressed!! :)

Bli med? Rebecca har husly i Sogndal :)

Hehe jeg tror dessverre dette ikke er noe for meg- kjenner jeg ikke har behov for konkurranse elementet lengre! 😄 men veldig imponerende at du skal! 😁

Skjønner det altså! Jeg kjente bare selv at det var noe jeg trengte, noe å se frem til og som jeg kan trene mot. Dessuten morsomt med ski. Merker jeg får litt sommerfugler i magen av å tenke på konkurranse, men tenker at hvis jeg er i form så skal det bli gøy:)

Det er nok lurt å ha et mål - blir litt mer målrettet trening 😁

Ja, det er noe med det. Jeg er allerede i gang! :)

That's cool. Tell please, and many people took part in this action? And I always wanted to know, how many kids in Norway do skis?

It's very cool! I'm not sure how many will take part, and I will first do it in a year, but it's great to have a goal. Many kids ski in Norway. Just back from skiing with my oldest kid as we speak. We live in a place that is rich in snow so most kids ski here and they have skiing activities in school as well :)

It is cool! Despite the spring, in the last two days we have the real snowfall, that skiing is perfect) We plan to go to the forest on the weekend for this purpose.

Sounds like a wonderful plan! We are actually on easter holiday and will spend ten days in the mountains! We will ski a lot and I can't wait! I will try to be on Steemit from time to time, and make some posts about it :) Look forward to hear about your ski trip! Have a great weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70