Women's World Cup Soccer (football) - Thailand vs. USA

in #sports5 years ago

USA is not known for their prowess in football (soccer) on the men's side, I've always been a bit perplexed as to how they normally end up in the top 20 national teams in the world. I suppose that isn't really fair, they do make it to the bracket stages of the World Cup more than most nations but this next one they didn't even qualify... which is embarrassing when you consider that their "division" is pretty weak.

Anyway, this isn't about them.


source
if you were watching the game you got to see plenty of goal celebrations

USA women are a completely different story. Their team is usually a global favorite to win the World Cup pretty much every time. I am certain that Thailand was quite unhappy to draw a game against them but I am quite certain that Thailand didn't entertain any notions of advancing - Soccer just isn't their thing unfortunately.


source

I'm not saying that their should be a "slaughter rule" in any sport but I gotta say, when I was watching this, I really started to feel bad for the Thai women, and not just because I live here either. 13-0 isn't something that happens very often in soccer and after a while it kind of became a bit funny how often the USA women were scoring. The Thai team held the USA to a respectable 3-0 score at halftime and then the wheels just fell off for Thailand in the 2nd half.


source

Alexandra Morgan scored 5 goals for the Americans, four of those goals game in the 2nd half and she scored a hat trick in the final 15 minutes.

I wont watch many of the games because since the games are in France, that means most of them are going to be broadcast here in Thailand quite late at night.

I am an American, who has lived in Thailand for most of his adult life--I still cheer for my home country in these situations but also don't like to see Thailand get beaten that badly. They have Sweden next and while I don't expect a rout like this, I sincerely doubt that Thailand stands much of a chance in that game either.

Sort:  

U S A, U S A! :) I think they stop using the mercy rule after they get out of grade school. I could be wrong though. It is pretty sad that the women's team has seen so much success but they still are severely underpaid compared to the men's team. That is the big news story that is going around over here right now.

I don't really want to get into the politics about this but it all boils down to money... I didn't search long so all i could find was statistics going back to 2015 when this topic was brought up the first time.

This years figures have not been released, but four years ago the Women's World Cup brought in almost $73 million. The 2010 Men's World Cup in South Africa made almost $4 billion. Those players got $348 million, or 9 percent of the total revenue. The women's team got a higher percentage with 13 percent, but the bottom line was still much less, $10 million.

Yeowch! Yeah, I hear you. It always boils down to the money and the fact that for whatever reason people don't show up for women's sports like they do for men's. I see it in high school all the time. If you aren't bringing in the revenue you can't pay as much...

My dad was the coach of our Recreational soccer team when I was growing up. We usually won, but he would NEVER let us run up the score.. It's just not good Sportsmanship..

I'm sure Miss Morgan and the rest of the crew are salivating over the own personal stats as a way to bolster future contracts.. but it's a shame that this is what professional sports have come to. It's not even fun to watch. Oh well.. I agree, there should be some Mercy rule or something to prevent demoralizing defeats such as this.

Hopefully they have better luck against Sweden, but not likely :(

After watching this game, I know it's worth watching a woman's football.

After watching this
Game, I know it's worth watching
A woman's football.

                 - kwachu123


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Foods are cooked in street in Thailand, is that true?

Posted using Partiko Android

Finally you are writing about football... Love it! But, a victory like yesterdays is actually quite boring, but we can expect more fun as they will play against Sweden and then eventually during the knockout stage... Then it will be worth watching

Posted using Partiko Android

i could be wrong but i wanna say that Sweden actually knocked the USWT out of the Olympics or something like that? Tough group for Thailand to be in for sure.

USA team have quality players and is favorite. But do you think they should have gone for 13-0? A humiliating defeat for Thailand. Do you think they should have called some players out?

in 2010 Portugal beat North Korea 7-0 and then Germany spanked Brazil 7-1 in Brazil 4 years later.

I think you should score as many goals as you can I just felt bad for the Thai women because I live in Thailand. These people aren't kids, they are professionals competing in the highest level of competition this sport has to offer (well, playing with only your own country's people anyway). There should be no mercy or consideration for feelings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78