You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ECU defeats Miami in the greatest game I ever attended (1999)

in #sports5 years ago

one of my family members is a nurse in the coastal areas of NC, she hasn't said. I, like you, don't pay much attention to the news. However, she was saying that the hospitals are on lockdown, as in they are not letting anyone in there unless approved by paramedics. I don't think the devastation is anywhere near what has happened in past hurricanes.

Sort:  

The force of nature can be relentless and frightening. Let's hope all is well and damage is kept to a minimum...And people get the madical care they need.

That's pretty sweet that you played. I was both a football and soccer player my freshman year, and i was pretty good at both. However, it was becoming pretty apparent that i wasn't going to grow to be big enough to not get creamed and I was much better at soccer. I was, at that time around 160 lbs or so, and even playing as a receiver, on shorts plays i would just get rocked by much heavier defensive players. I started to be scared and was dropping passes because I was focusing on not getting blindsided rather than keeping my eyes on the ball.

It was time to play just soccer at that point ... which all worked out nicely because i was much more suited to that game. The only problem was, in the early 90's, nobody really gave a rat's ass about soccer.

Discretion is the better part of valor or something like that right?

I started as a linebacker then lost a little weight, got fast and ran lead block for my brother who was the half back. I gained short yardage and s ores some fighting TD's Loved it. Ten years and a lot of pain later I stopped. I was 32 I think. Was great whilst it lasted...My 49 year old bones regret it though.

Soccer is huge these days isn't it. A world sport. I sucked at soccer. Monumentally bad at it. 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52