Dillian Whyte open to a world title eliminator against Kubrat Pulev or Alexander Povetkin. Who could be next for The Body Snatcher?

in #sports6 years ago

skysports-dillian-whyte-boxing_4275183.jpg

Dillian Whyte held talks with Eddie Hearn this week about his next fight
Dillian Whyte is considering a variety of options for his next fight, but welcomed the prospect of a final world title eliminator against either Kubrat Pulev or Alexander Povetkin.

The British heavyweight held talks with promoter Eddie Hearn this week to discuss a potential return in July after last month's destructive knockout win over Lucas Browne.

Whyte remains the No 1 ranked contender for WBC champion Deontay Wilder, but has urged Povetkin to face him if the governing body order a final eliminator, while the IBF this week called the Brixton man to battle Kubrat Pulev for the right to become their mandatory challenger.
d2.jpg

We're just waiting to see which is the best move and the best date for us to go with right now. There's a lot going on, a lot.
Dillian Whyte

"Everything is up in air at the minute, because there's so much options and there's lots of things going on," Whyte told Sky Sports. "We're just waiting to see which is the best move and the best date for us to go with right now. There's a lot going on, a lot.

"The options are Deontay Wilder, a rematch with Anthony Joshua, possibly fighting Kubrat Pulev for a final eliminator and then I become mandatory challenger for Joshua, or maybe a voluntary fight.

'The Body Snatcher' demolished Lucas Browne in the sixth round at The O2
"The WBC want me to probably fight a final eliminator against someone, which we don't know yet. We're trying to get them to enforce the mandatory and the WBA has come out a few days ago and said they want me to fight for their regular WBA world title."
kubrat-pulev-heavyweight-boxer_3749396.jpg
Pulev's promoter Nisse Sauerland confirmed the 'The Cobra' has accepted the Whyte fight and believes the bout could be staged in the Bulgarian's home country or Britain.

The IBF have ordered a final eliminator between Whyte and Kubrat Pulev
The IBF have ordered a final eliminator between Whyte and Kubrat Pulev
Whyte added: "It's a very good fight, but they are talking about possibly going to Bulgaria to fight. What for?

"The profile, the money, the revenue, everything is in England, so why would I go and fight him in Bulgaria? But it's a fight that I definitely want.

"It would secure me a place as mandatory challenger for the IBF, and it's fight that I want. I believe I can beat Pulev all day long. At the O2, it's a big fight."

Whyte issued a challenge to Povetkin in Cardiff
Povetkin has enforced a WBA mandatory title shot at Joshua, who has to negotiate the fight within 30 days, but Whyte expects his British rival to receive special dispensation from the WBA to fight Wilder first in a huge unification clash.

"Povetkin stands no chance of enforcing that fight at this minute, so I do think he should let me and him fight in a final eliminator," said Whyte.

"I went after him and called him out straight away after his devastating knockout of David Price. I spoke to his promoter and I spoke to him.

Dillian Whyte

@DillianWhyte
Come on Sasha @APovetkin @EddieHearn @HBOboxing @SkySportsBoxing stop wavering you said you'd fight me last week why the u turn ?
I'm No1 with the @WBCBoxing but I’m still happy to fight you #COWARD

3:58 AM - Apr 6, 2018
720
176 people are talking about this
Twitter Ads info and privacy
"You don't need to speak English to understand when someone wants to fight you next. Me and you, you don't need to speak English to understand that. He could understand me, I was making the hand gestures, and he said 'yes, yes, I'll fight you next.'

"He's a good fighter, a former Olympic gold medallist, a former world champion. He's only lost to Wladimir Klitschko, so that's a very, very attractive fight. A very, very good fight.

"That fight will get the public's juices flowing and get everyone going crazy. Pulev is also a good fight as well, but if I had a chance I would pick Povetkin. But if Pulev wants it, he can have it."

http://www.skysports.com/boxing/news/12040/11319276/dillian-whyte-welcomes-world-title-eliminator-against-kubrat-pulev-or-alexander-povetkin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42