I'm in the midst of a terrible bout of laziness and procrastination.

in #sports2 years ago

image.png

I will waste some more time by pointing out that can't even say I lost the evening by watching the college football game. I don't actually care about college football and basketball. The rational reason for this is that they are basically minor league sports. Georgia would get clobbered by even the worst team in the NFL. The worst team in the NBA would crush the NCAA tournament champion. Division I NCAA football and basketball are basically just the minor leagues for the higher-level pros - the equivalent of AAA baseball.

Also, universities should either get out of the business of minor-league pro sports, or at least dispense with the fiction that the players are "students." Make them employees and pay them accordingly. Schools could then conduct this side business without undermining education in the process.

That said, the real reason why I don't follow NCAA sports is that I grew up in a part of the country where few people care about college sports, and there is a strong tradition of pro sports fandom. If I had grown up in Kentucky or Alabama (states where the opposite situation prevails), I might well today be a huge Wildcat or Crimson Tide fan, making lame arguments about how the college game is fundamentally different from the pro game, and thus the two shouldn't be compared (or, more absurdly, that the college version is actually better).

Early habituation is a big factor in sports fandom!

Ok, back to trying to get back to work!

Sort:  

I hear ya. I went to college on an athletic scholarship but in a sport that the university I attended and basically all US universities didn't really care about: Soccer.

I was held to academic standards but the people in the football and basketball programs were rarely even in the classroom. There is no chance that they actually passed the exams.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51