What Type Of A Sports Fan Are You?

in #sports7 years ago

The Arsenal

So The Arsenal just won their 13th FA cup trophy after having a very mediocre season all year long. To be honest, I wasn't going to watch it has I had lost interest in them for a while now and I'd rather be on Steemit than waste my time in front of the TV. However, as fate would have it, I tuned in right in time for the game but I had apparently already missed a lot. Arsenal were a goal up after only four minutes! I felt excited!

Then my heart began to race and pound and my fingers couldn't stay still as I was trying to reply messages on my phone. "What if Chelsea equalized?" Questions upon questions running haphazardly through my mind. Before long, I was beginning to feel sick.

Oh this is why I hate watching football especially when a team I care about is playing.

"Care"? Did I just say "care" a few lines after admitting that I had lost interest in watching Arsenal play? Well yeah. I was surprised as well when I realized the gravity of the situation. How did I come to be this way? I have no answers 'cos I don't know but one thing I was certain of is that Chelsea were going to equalize with all the chances Arsenal were giving away. And boy was I right!

Luckily for me, electricity went off and it was a big blessing for me as my "fabricated fever" had started to reach scary levels. With the lights out, I moved over to my phone by impulse but then chose to fully recover rather than continue to belabor my heart.

I wouldn't put the TV back on until I received a text that Arsenal had won. I happily skipped out of my room to watch the trophy presentation and happy moments.

Moments later the question came to me: "What type of a sports fan do you think you are?"

I'm not really sure because even though I did all I could to drive myself away from The Arsenal, deep down I was still a fan. I still have love for the club but I sometimes can't stand watching them play. I'm sure 90 minutes is way too long for my heart to keep pounding continuously. I don't need a doctor to tell me that.

But I was still curious to find out exactly what type of a fan I am and that led me to this article from way back

Turns out I'm The "Manifest-Destiny" Fan.

  1. The "Manifest-Destiny" Fan
    You fans truly believe your team is invincible and cannot be defeated. You believe your team must conquer everyone else and commit blow outs every game; They must destroy their opponents, and do it without honor. You only care about winning and destroying people, nothing else.

It's why my heart races when the slightest thought of a loss creeps in. It's why I can't stand losing and losing for a long period of time.


What about you?

  • What Type Of Sports Fan Are You?

  • Are You Even Into Sports At All?

  • Have You Ever Tried To Reason Why Supposedly Sane People Would Be So Much Emotionally Invested In Something As "Fickle" As Sports?


**

Did you enjoy this post? Yes? Great! Now let's give others the chance to see it. All it takes is a resteem!
Thank you!
Sort:  

hahahaa WENGER IN! sign everywhere. On behalf of United Fans, we're happy for you guys.

He was going to stay either way so STFU.

LOL.

I am a loyal Arsenal fan, and I watched the match from start to finish. I am really very joyful we won, I really can't explain the emotion and I am very sure the joy would last for days. YaGunnersYa!

I am a "loyal fan" too. I just don't blow every time. It's just the FA cup. Yeah for a record 13th time but some .... forget it. LOL

My user name says it all...I have tried to reason why I am so emotionally connected with the club, and I have no idea why. I think Arsenal fits my personality in some weird way.

I think we just grow attached. It doesn't happen at one singular moment. It happens over time till we realize we can no longer detach ourselves.

Well..The power of Thierry Henry was too strong for me..

I use to care more about sports team then myself but now I'm more of a causal fan

Haha! I think i'm on my way there.

It became too stressful 😂

i like arsenal

YEP WE JUST DID!!!! .....COYG!

AH! You too? Oh great then. lol.

I'm a massive man Utd fan but I will watch whatever football is on the telly box. #footballislife

These days, I'd rather watch music videos but then I rarely watch tv so I end up just listening to the audio rather than watching

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78