Training Plan of an Ordinary Athlete

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

Summary of the previous seasons


In a month (and something) I’ll be entering my fourth Ultimate Frisbee season. In a NFL terminology, my rookie years are over. Let me sum up my “unorthodox sportsman story”.

Source

I have been “doing” sports since I was a kid, because my parents used to be playing handball for national teams and even in German league (arguably best handball league) and I was kinda forced (till I was like 16-17). I thought have been a goalkeeper for 9 years (no running at all…basically just yelling and falling to the ground) and then I played table tennis for about 2 years (just recreationally…they wanted me to play “professionally” but I didn’t want to). Well then at the age of 20 I found Ultimate Frisbee and fell in love with it. It is though a sport where one has to run NON-STOP. It was BY FAR the toughest exercise I have ever been doing and my body wasn’t ready at all. That led to several “health problems”.

I managed to get to the A team during my very first season, therefore I even attended the European Finals. I sucked hard back then, but I guess that the teammates saw some kind of potential in me and wanted to grant me the international experience of highest level. My knees though weren’t in perfect shape throughout the season (not enough muscles). So I spent the off-season muscling legs up.

Source

It worked out. My knees were significantly better in my second season and I even tried to make it to the National team. It worked out! I got better, but I still sucked at even higher level of gameplay:D. Then again problems occurred. From all the layouts throughout the season I have torn my triceps. Another offseason was spent rehabilitating and muscling up bottom part of the body.





In my third seasons the problems with my knees were gone, but my right hand (throwing hand) wasn’t anything special. It was getting better, but then again started hurting, but luckily it happened AFTER the season. I think that I increased my overall contribution to the team again, but it was still not enough to come even close to our veterans.

And here I am, planning what to concentrate on during my 3rd offseason where I intend to have a huge impact both on and off the field. This is what I came up with.

Theoretical plan



Source

The biggest problem as of now is my right arm. It’s doing fine for now, but who knows whether it will be able to handle another long and exhausting season. The biggest priority then is to muscle up my upper body.

Legs have significantly improved since I first started playing. We have this saying that no level of preparation is enough, but one has to choose priorities. As of now I decided that they could use some more muscles and as soon as our trainings start I’ll start running instead of muscling up, for I doubt that they will be able to handle both throughout the whole season. Usually as soon as tournaments start, the legs need every bit of regeneration time they can get and having 4 leg days (counting regular trainings) would be way too much.

My core has always been my biggest strength, so as of now I’m going to just maintain its current state.

Practical plan


I plan to sum up my effort every now and then. Spreading my training plan to you will keep me more motivated (hopefully:D). I have been ill for about 6 weeks due to an unknown disease. That have hindered my initial plan (I wanted to start training on 1st November). That didn’t work out and I have slowly (as expected after 6 weeks of illness) started muscling up. Then in December I had to spend quite some time on university exams and projects, which again hindered my plan. Instead of every, or every other day, I trained like every 3rd day. Could have been better but it also could have been worse. During January I finally stabilized, but unfortunately half way through I strained my hamstring. It though feels just fine now and I’m soon going to test it during the Czech Indoors Championships

The actual numbers


Throughout those 2 and half months I have done quite some work, but I of course plan to increase the intensity!
Those numbers only account for my individual trainings. Team trainings and tournaments are not in there (Running and Sprint numbers would increase EXPONENTIALLY).

Biggest priority

  • 735 squads
  • 605 push-ups
  • 600 sit-ups

“Prior tournaments” warm ups

  • Running (7,8 km)
  • Sprints (300 m)
  • Stairs (100 m)

Regular warm ups

  • Plank (1 min)
  • Jump rope (200 jumps)

Sort:  

This sounds too tiring and stressful. We think we'll stick to drawing...

tiring yes, stessful naaah:P its all about fun...drawig is though too i guess:P

Oh, no, not as tough! :P But it can be a lot of fun! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93