Oh WOW...Clippers Trade Chris Paul To The Rockets...

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

MAN...I heard about these rumors but I didn't think it would happen. I thought he would take the $204 million to stay a Clipper.

But with Jerry West now advising and seeing that the Clippers have never even made it to the Conference Finals. So perhaps it was time to change!

The Clippers in return get defensive superstar Patrick Beverly, explosive offensive player Lou Williams, and young 2nd year player Sam Dekker.

Although you can never replace the greatness of Chris Paul and what he brings to the table. It just was not working out in LA. I applaud Paul for giving up $50 million dollars on the table to chase a ring.

In my opinion...Point Guards that are scorers first never do well for their teams. They put up good numbers but can not carry a team. Albeit Paul averages over 9 assists per game, with Blake Griffin and Deandre Jordan it should be more.

Now, does this help the Rockets? Harden likes the ROCK and likes to score. How will they coexist? There is also rumors that the Rockets also want Paul George and/or Carmelo Anthony. Daryl Morey just gets SHIT DONE. It may not work out but at least he freaking tries. Something has to be done to challenge the Warriors.

Overall I like the move for both teams. The teams as is had no chance of getting past Golden State. And who better to construct the Clipper to dethrone the Warriors than the adviser who built the team the last 6 years Jerry West.

I love this kind of stuff. Makes it fun. What do you guys think?

Source of image:


UPDATE...UPDATE...UPDATE...UPDATE...

Ok I just found this out a few minutes ago. It is 12:17pm PST right now.

1) The Clippers DID NOT OFFER the 5th year to Chris Paul. So he DID NOT leave $50 million on the table.

2) Jerry West WAS NOT at the meeting yesterday for Chris Paul.

WOW WOW WOW...To me there was no intent to keep Paul. This was Jerry West's plan the whole time. I am shocked. I was informed that West was brought in to help keep Paul.

Sort:  

I would have liked to see Chris Paul go to the spurs. I think that would have been a way better fit.

I agree with you 100%. Less guys that need the ball in their hands. At Houston he has Harden. And possibly Paul George or Carmelo Anthony. Will be interesting

Are you the Eric Gordon from Houston?
Congratulations on winning the 6th man of the year!

I wish. I am the less richer version...well MUCH less richer version. lol i tried to sell my (at the time) ericgordon.net domain name to him when he was a rookie with the Clippers for $1 million dollars. His people didn't go for it.

Ah dang man. That would have been a nice pay day!

Wow, I am really looking forward to watch CP and Harden play together

I read it first from @moneybunny! Was truly surprised.

I agree with you 100%. This is a great move for both teams. There is no way that the Big 3 in Clipperland could move past the beast in Golden State.

Houston definitely got a big boost in the backcourt. It's going to be very interesting to see how it pans out though. James was an effective PG last season, and giving it back to a pure PG might be tough; but, I believe that both can co-exist. Both are ball dominant, so having this off-season is critical! I'd say both are going to share the ball handling responsibilities, but I see Chris deferring to James since it is his team. I also agree with you in that sense that Houston's NOT done with making moves. If they bring another caliber forward (Could a trade involving Paul George for Trevor Ariza/assets entice the Pacers? Melo and the Knicks?), we'd have a legitimate argument for contending with the best in the West.

For the Clippers, I like the Jerry West move, and I like the assets they brought in. Lou Williams comes back to LA but with the Clippers - a bonafide scorer a la Jamal Crawford, Sam Dekker is a shooting big that can space the floor, and of course, Patrick Beverley, the peskiest PG in the NBA (1st Team All Defense; 'nuff said). The Clippers also have other questions to answer: JJ Redick/Jamal Crawford are redundant guards in the likes of Pat Bev and Lou Will - who stays? who goes? Do they keep Blake Griffin/DJ? Are they tanking? Are they contending?

Lots of great speculation so far! Looking forward to the off-season starting this Saturday! Free agency is going to be absolutely crazy! Thanks for sharing @ericgordon :)

Great points and well said. I doubt they are tanking. Not with Jerry West and his 2 year contract in which he will retire afterwards. Part of the reason West was brought to LA was to make sure Chris Paul would stay. OOOPS. lol

Omg he's looking for a championship I don't think he's going to find it in Houston . I'm wondering what's going to happen now with the clippers

I'm sure Jerry West has something planned. But yeah your guess is as good as mine. I was hearing that Jerry West was brought in to make sure Paul stays. lol...well that plan went out the window. If Houston can get Paul George I think they can compete with the Warriors. ..if Harden decides to play D. lol.

Great job !! thanks for the update ! will follow :)

Thanks I appreciate that.

Dude, PG-13 or Carmelo, they could make a run for it. They need someone to play defense though.

Yeah Paul George would be the key piece. And he is a great defender too. Losing Beverly's D is tough but what they have now is a shot at getting by the Warriors. That is all that matters to teams that are good. Is not to get better but to be good enough to beat the Warriors.

Fam! The combination of Harden and CP3 will be lethal!

and if they get Paul George which they are trying too...uh oh...that is a nice Big 3.

holy shit.... Yea there is one ball but these two together is gonna be a big problem.. one cuts and kicks out to the other.. Harden can create points (except in the playoffs) and Paul can create.. will be an interesting duo... Kinda like what the Pelicans got goin in New Orleans but with small guys

lol @ the playoffs...so true haha. If they get Paul George which they are attempting its gonna be a fun season to watch these guys and the Warriors. And I'm interest to see what Jerry West and the Clippers will do? West is not a rebuild kind of guy. Especially on a 2 year contract and he insists he will retire after it.

I love Chris Paul but he came in to the league the same time Deron Williams did - and you saw how he's performing in the finals with the CAVS. The fact is Chris Paul is past his prime - while he may have 1 year... maybe 2... playing at a high level... his numbers will drop dramatically over the next 5 years.

After all - there's only one JOHN STOCKTON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47