You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Pulling a Michael Chang” – Or, How Self-deprecation Might Hurt Your Credibility & Writing

in #sports6 years ago

I remember self-deprecating comments about myself early in my university career.

An upperclassman gave me a figurative slap on the back of my head to have me stop it. Since then, I've done better in work-related and personal dating life.

You don't have to aggrandize yourself or be a poser, but being objective about where you stand is definitely better than putting yourself down all the time.

Sort:  

Exactly! After all just getting in to the university is an achievement, right? I'm not a fan of poserdom or arrogance either but I certainly have subscribed to the "fake it till you make it" method in the past lol I appreciate your comment. When I reread my post I used very strong language. I look on it this morning and realized I had some specific people in mind when I wrote it (none of them follow me or are here in comments). Haha I sound so angry! This frustration has been building within me for weeks. Thanks for reading my venting ;)

It's what blogs are for!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65