You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soccer Will Not Become a Top Sport in the U.S. Anytime Soon, So Just Enjoy the Game

in #sports7 years ago

Every four years, after being overhyped, the U.S. men’s soccer team dies an early World Cup death (this year, it didn’t even get in).

I didn't realise it didn't get in this year; although I remember a couple of WCs ago they did really well, I think they beat Ghana and looked really good.

They had a few English Premier League players, including the excellent Everton goalie Tim Howard, and even had one playing in Italy's Serie A.

I thought to myself, this is it, within 8 years they will be good enough to beat teams in the top 10 in the world. However it never materialised and I remember an American said to me when I asked, that the States wouldn't be interested unless they won the whole thing.

I thought that was incredibly sad, as it meant that they weren't recognised for their truly amazing progress that year. I think if they were it might have inspired others to take up the sport and excel.

As far as the reasons, I think it is down to the 'fame and fortune' thing you mentioned. Plus I also reckon that Americans love sports that stop and start so you can analyse the hell out of them.

Also Americans like kicking ass; and so they can't handle seeing a nation who they would obliterate at any other sport, smash them in a game of football :-)

Cg

Sort:  

That's all true, CG. And Americans do like to win if they're in. Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67