[Discussion Post] What sports have you been watching, and how have they responded to Covid19?

in #sports4 years ago

100 percent of the liquid rewards for this post will go towards rewarding engaging and relevant comments. . .


Hello everyone! Thank you all for your responses to last week's discussion post! Yesterday I saw an article that says that the head coach of the Eagles (the Philadelphia football team) has tested positive for Covid19. That got me thinking that a good topic for discussion this week might be what sports you have been watching, and how they have responded to Covid 19. So please leave a comment below answering the question:

What sports have you been watching, and how have they responded to Covid19?


Feel free to also talk about any sports that you have been playing!

Discuss away!


Thank you to these users for sponsoring these discussion posts!

SponsorMessage
@steemingcuratorsLooking for a Steem Exclusive community? Check out the Steeming Curators Community and voting trail!
@glory7Check steemworld.org for any Steem related features!
@knitriasKnitrias Project Community: Growth and Education Group.
@cmp2020Do you enjoy Harry Potter? Join the Wizarding World Community for all things Harry Potter
@remlapsPlease consider joining the Popular Stem and Classical Music communities!

Thank you also to @steemitblog and @steemcurator01 for their support!


How do I become a sponsor?

In order to better reward the discussion aspect of Steem, I am asking anyone interested to sponsor these discussion posts.

If you want to be listed, with a brief 15 word message, as one of the sponsors of these discussion posts , you should:

  • Have a stake of at least 1000sp
  • Commit to upvoting each of these weekly discussion posts with 100 percent to help increase the distribution that goes to participants in the discussion.
  • Comment on this post expressing interest. Make sure to include the 15 word message you want displayed next to your name, and if you want a group name or nickname displayed instead of your username.

The Initiative

Right now, it is important to develop the discussion aspect of Steem. In order to do this, the experimental account, @penny4thoughts was created by @remlaps.

If the account (@penny4thoughts) is set as a beneficiary, it will evenly distribute the liquid portion of the post's rewards to the authors of comments that the post author upvotes with 100 percent voting power. For this post, and all future [Discussion Posts] in the category 'penny4thoughts', I will be setting @penny4thoughts as a beneficiary for 100 percent of the posts' rewards, and I will monitor the discussion and upvote valuable contributions.

Additional Information About My Use of Bidbot(s)

In addition to rewards from sponsors' upvotes, I am also committing to using bidbots to try to increase the amount of liquid rewards of these discussion posts so that there is more stake for rewarding engaging discussions. I know that the use of bidbots has been looked down upon, but I think an exception can be made when trying to enhance the community through rewarding positive discussion.

Sort:  

@cmp2020. Soccer is the most popular sport in Nigeria. So that's my number one sport. Even through the COVID 19 period, people still go out to viewing centers to watch the English Premier League. I watch all the games at home. I actually support Manchester United and we were not happy to watch bitter rivals Liverpool lift the league. But I hope next season, my club will compete more. I personally love watching soccer matches and that in addition to news, is the reason I subscribe to cable TV.

I can't wait to see fans again in the stadia. It's sometimes boring as we miss the noise and excitement provided by fans during live matches. I enjoy soccer and it's the best sports I love watching before, during and after COVID-19.

First of all I'm guilty of not participating in any form of sport during this pandemic how ever I'm allowed to talk about swimming that I've done only once.

I always fantasize about swimming because I love it and want to learn it someday.

I've not been able to to learn because of school activities and lack of time. I wanted to seize this opportunity during pandemic but my parents wouldn't allow me to enter a public pool.

Swimming has always been an interesting sport to me. I'm so surprised to see fat people being a better swimmer than I.

I read about swimming a few times but it's difficult for me to practice it. The last time I went swimming I was in the shallow part all through.

The lowest was just 3ft tall and there I was standing playing with the water like an amateur swimmer that I am.

I was so devastated to hear that Naya Rivera died of drowning. Had it been that I could swim, maybe I would have saved her.😔😔😔

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

Hi @cmp2020 and all the friends that make up this gathering or discussion!

I remember that since I was a child I used to sit in front of the television on weekends to see the different boxing matches. There is something curious that I remember, and that is, I don't know why Dad always supported the boxer who looked weaker. That was something that I never asked him but I assumed as time passed and I watched boxing, my tendency was to support the weaker of the two boxers! heh heh !!

As for covid19 and its impact on this habit, it has been relevant since the fights are always held in closed places and with many people, both fans and members of the different teams and for health and safety reasons they have continued to present the meetings of Prerecorded boxing, that is, those who have already presented them repeat them so as not to stop broadcasting. Also, they have already begun to present fights live but without an audience and taking the precautions of the case.

When gloom around me or I'm in a bad mood, I watch the recording of the legendary game of the USSR national hockey team against the Canadian national team. It improves my mood and gives me vigor. This is what I did during the lockdown.
I saw a tape of this battle in early childhood, but I remember that match very well. Oh, how I was scared for our team. The Canadian players seemed to me to be huge, merciless monsters like the Hulk or Godzilla. They played without helmets, behaved aggressively and constantly got into fights. It was a shock for us! In our sport, fighting was not accepted, it was considered a dirty game.
Subsequently, our teams traveled to America and Canada many times. Most of all I remember the super series of games of the CSKA team (the central sports club of the army). It was the best team in the USSR.

This is a fascinating perspective to me. I was never a hockey fan, but when I was growing up I knew enough about the sport to know that in the Olympics whenever the US played either Canada or the USSR, the US was nearly certain to lose. Those two countries dominated the sport. Of course, the only Olympic year that I remember specifically is the year of the "miracle on ice", 1980, I guess it was - when the US did manage to squeak past the USSR. I don't think I watched any of the games, but everyone here talked about it endlessly.

In contrast, growing up in Philadelphia, I knew that there was an intense rivalry in the professional hockey league (NHL) between the Philadelphia Flyers, the Boston Bruins, and the Montreal Canadians. We thought that the Bruins usually lost to the Flyers, the Flyers usually lost to the Canadians, and the Canadians usually lost to the Bruins - and we could never figure that out. Even as a non-sports fan, I can still name a number of the Flyers players from the years that they won the league ('74/5/6). That team was legendary.

In the '70s, though, I had the same impression about the Montreal Canadians that you had about Canada's national team.. big bruisers that were eager to fight. On the other hand, the Flyers were known as the "Broad Street Bullies", so they got in their share of fights too. I don't often watch it, but I have the impression that our pro hockey has become far more gentile in recent years.

Yes, I remember that defeat at Lake Placid! It was a shock. Nobody thought that the US team would win. Indeed "Mirage on Ice"! Nevertheless, it happens. In 1972, the USSR national basketball team, defeating the "dream team", became the Olympic champion. It was incredible at all. And it seems incredible even now!

As I understand it, the US Olympics are not the main event for many sports. National championships are more prestigious. I remember that the Stanley Cup final coincided with the Olympic Winter Games hockey tournament. Therefore, the Canadian national team included the games of weaker teams. Closer to the finals of the Olympiad, the national team was significantly strengthened by the arrival of more powerful players.

Hello my good friend @cmp2020! I hope you are well and enjoying the beginning of the month.

Currently waiting for the Champions League to be played this Friday and Saturday. Eager for the return of this competition. Despite feeling down for not fully enjoying the competition when the world was in its normal stage (without covid-19), I hope to see some good games these next days! ⚽️

I not watch much sports but i am die hard fan of cricket.
I am also good batsman and before COVID-19 i'm working on my bowling skill. i start watching cricket because one & only Caption Cool Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Also because of him i start playing cricket.

image.png
Source

Due To COVID-19 i not watched live cricket match from last 4 months. i used to watch re telecast of old matches of Indian team and IPL(Indian Premier League) matches.

image.png
Source
This year IPL(Worlds Biggest League) is scheduled in month of April and May but due to Corona it not happen.
we also leave our hopes of this year's IPL because T-20 World cup is scheduled in Feb 2021. that's why we think IPL will not happen this year but now T-20 world cup is postponed and ILP is going to held in UAE from September in empty ground with following all the new rules for COVID-19 and taking necessary precautions.

image.png
Source

we all Cricket Fans are very excited for IPL. It is also called as India ka Tyohar i.e. Festival of India.

Hello friends!!
My favorite sport is Venezuelan baseball, and the season begins in October so so far it has not influenced it, although major league baseball began without an audience, but I imagine that the emotion of the game should not be the same for the players .

I think that the greatest impact that the covid-19 has had in terms of sports has been with the Olympics, after 5 years of waiting to enjoy this majestic event it has had to be suspended, boy, if it impacted me, that was one of the moments and news of the covid-19 that made me think that this virus is terrible.

To be honest, I confess that I see little sport, however the subject is interesting and pertinent, since sports represent an important percentage in world commercial activity and one of the aspects that has been most affected by this of the covid-19. And it is worth asking: what is the effect of this? It was convincing to say that this responds to sports owing their profitability to spectators, fans, mass media broadcasting and, above all, face-to-face public attendance at sporting events, as a result of the measures to combat covid-19, which is impossible, in most countries.
That said, he followed two specific sports; Major League Baseball and Horse Racing nationwide.
Being from the objective point of view, considering the performance has not varied in quality, we continue to see the great plays, the exploits, the expression of glory in each win, in that particular the covid-19 has not diminished such qualities.
Now, if I speak from the subjective point of view, on each stage or day of these sports, it is evident that something is missing and it could not be more than the human heat from the stands, the heat, the noise, the euphoria of the spectators and fans, who undoubtedly influence the players and who do not have these elements in mind, the player or athlete, will be affected even in their mood.
I can confess that in particular I feel and believe that an opaque environment is evident in each stadium or race track, where the absence of the public is evident.

Hey @cmp2020 i watch all the sports like Cricket, Hockey,Chess,Football,Kabbadi etc on tv and also play Cricket, Kabbadi and Chess but my favorite sports i like to watch is Kabbadi.

The main resion behind Kabbadi is my favorite sport is it started by India and i watched all the 7 Kabbadi world and India has won six Kabaddi world cups out of seven Kabbadi world cups played till now.

I also watched all the 7 season of Pro Kabbadi.

image.png
Source
In this covid situation i can't watch kabbadi and also can't play. because in unlock(In india after almost 3 months lock-down we starting all the services in phase manner and named it as unlock) sports are allowed with maintaning social distancing and without audiounce in ground.

image.png

Source
we can organize Pro Kabbadi without audiounce but maintaning social distancing in Kabbadi is impossible because we need to tuch opposite team players while rading and hold hands of our team players while defending. so it is not possible to play kabbadi with maintaning social distancing. that's why till now Pro Kabbadi in not announced.

I hope we have vaccine soon i can watch Pro Kabbadi again on tv and also can play it with my friends.

Personally, I have not been much of a sports fan in recent decades. I'll watch pro sports if one of the local teams gets into the playoffs, but that's about it. For the last four years, though, I have really enjoyed watching the Rustin High School football team and marching band every week-end in the fall (see here). Even without COVID, this year would have been a weird one for me since you graduated now...

But of course COVID has to make everything more complicated. Pennsylvania's high school sports league, the PIAA has been planning to run fall sports with no audiences allowed, but on Thursday, Pennsylvania's Governor Wolf announced a recommendation for no school sports until January of 2021.

On Friday, however, the PIAA responded that they think sports can be done with relative safety and stated, "The unintended consequences of cancelling fall sports need to be further reviewed".

So it remains to be seen how government lockdown policies and recommendations will continue to impact sports in the region. Pennsylvania's high schools are widely known for producing high-quality football players and wrestlers, so this confusion may have lasting impacts extending into future collegiate and professional athletics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82