GGG vs Canelo. Its here!

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

The monster fight between Genady "Triple G" Golovkin and Saul "Canelo" Alvarez is right on our doorstep and this one promises to not disappoint!




Its no secret that both these guys can bang, but I feel their sometimes overlooked skills will play a big part in this fight. Yet both of these guys are coming to make a statement as a future warning to all who step in the ring with them and to claim their place in boxing history.

This fight feels akin to such historic gargantuan battles as Godzilla vs King Kong...



But seriously, I can't wait!

My money was on Canelo, due to his youth, strength, experience, speed and power. But the more I think about it, I find myself leaning towards Golovkin.

A recent video I was watching where a few middle weights were discussing this fight talked about Canelo saying "his rhythm doesn't match his speed". Because his movement can appear to be slow and plodding at times, then he can explode out of it with a fast powerful combination.


Canelo is also a great counter puncher, but Golovkin has proved himself to be difficult to counter and has underrated defence.

GGG often follows through with his motion, as opposed to many boxers who seem to snatch their hands back as fast as possible to defend themselves. This follow through technique he has developed allows him to control his opponents with his forearms/gloves, off balance them and steer them into his following punches. If you are off balance, you have no power, strength or speed.



So even though Canelo has good head movement, I'm not sure even if Golovkin misses with his looping shots, that Canelo won't get tangled up in his arms, controlled and then taken out.

But then Canelo is very strong, possibly stronger than GGG? I definitely believe Canelo is faster and I feel he is capable of knocking out GGG if he can connect flush and follow up successfully with his powerful combinations. But looking at his recent gains in muscle, many speculate that it will slow him down to GGG's advantage.

In all honesty I don't know which way to bet on this one. They are both dangerous, skillful, clever fighters and whoever comes away with the win, I don't think I will be disappointed either way, provided its not left to some stupid decision on the part of the judges.

I don't think this one will go the distance though.


If you have enjoyed my article, please free to comment and tell me who you think will win and why.

Thanks for reading.

Burty 😎


P.S. URL's to images embedded within image.

Sort:  

Good breakdown of both of their different strengths. I cannot cannot cannot wait for this fight. I have been waiting for a long time. I made my keys to victory you can check it out too.

Thanks. I cannot wait also!

I will take a look for your post.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55