You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Sports - The sports money machine: Are fans getting left out in the cold?

in #sports6 years ago

Your comment speaks volumes to what is going on in this industry every single day. I must admit that I am a huge NFL fan but I am frustrated with the way things are right now. You had to experience some of the worst of this issue first hand. Professional sports are a business for profit and that is just the harsh reality now. Fans and cities are held hostage and reap very little return for their invested dollar. It was a damn shame what happened in St.Louis. I see it happening all the time. Right now there is a fight in Calgary about who is going to pay for the "must have" new arena. Here in Ottawa the owner of the Sens is toying with the city about the new arena project and who suffers in the end? FANS. Thanks for the great comment.

Sort:  

We just lost a court battle with the Blues over public funding for arena upgrades. The frustrating part for me is the division. Many passionate fans think opposing a tax to fund these projects makes one anti-your team. Which is hardly the case. I loved the Rams. Second time in my life we actually went through this. I was young but generations before me had to go through losing the Cardinals to Arizona.

Relevant to our conversation, my first NFL game ever was in Denver. Got to see Elway play.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51