When Collections Become ObsessionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports7 years ago

As I’m writing this blog, I’ve just been ordering more sports memorabilia items for my NFL team, the Kansas City Chiefs, and it got me thinking. “When does a collection turn into an obsession?”

FA11B9C2-241C-4BBC-B889-84E7587AF797.jpeg

As a Chiefs fan from the United Kingdom, it’s very difficult to source autographed memorabilia of an American Football team (Gridiron football to you purists out there) so you really do have to pay over the odds to get items shipped across the pond, run the risk of receiving a customs and excise fees for said items, and then finally place your new item in your collection.

854E1B24-0A5E-4990-9729-DACAD8CE9CAC.jpeg

The Kansas City Chiefs came into my life during a very difficult time, and the connection I have with the franchise has built my confidence over the years to a whole new level. I watch the team play every week during the season on my iPad or TV (depending on which channel they’re on) I even stay up to watch the late games at 1:30am until 4:30am before going to work at 7:30am. My dedication to my team has consumed me, and the collection I made in my attic is proof that my collection is down to the obsession I have for the Kansas City Chiefs.

6750B834-9BEA-4CBE-AA28-3ACA8593805C.jpeg

Having started supporting the Chiefs in 2012, I finally made the pilgrimage to Kansas City in October 2017. The whole city was vibrant and completely overwhelming. The people of Kansas City are amongst the friendliest people I’ve ever met or even known! Their hospitality, their eagerness to show off their proud city and the love of their team cannot be beaten. I’ve vistited places such as Paris, Rome, London, Barcelona etc, and I have yet to meet any city that can beat Kansas City, I truly mean that.

FD0DB8C5-3B85-4F41-A39D-BED4CF0FFDBE.jpeg

For instance, whilst tailgating before the game (tailgating is basically a huge party in the parking lot where fans cook food on huge BBQ grills, drink beer and have huge amounts of fun) I was given a gift by a follower of my YouTube channel, and he said he wanted me to have this gift as a show of appreciation of what I have done over in the UK by supporting the Chiefs through my YouTube channel.

7E6DDD48-119A-4AE0-B953-FEC73251C396.jpeg

To my surprise, he had given me one of his prized possessions, a signed Tony Richardson jersey that his Dad got signed for him years ago. I was completely blown away by this and couldn’t stop sobbing for about 20 minutes afterwards. This gift will never leave my collection, it’s one of the most treasured pieces of Chiefs memorabilia that I own, and I can’t wait to get it framed.

E84D58DD-7CAF-4557-B000-139E80DA0D10.jpeg

So back to my original question, “when does a collection become an obsession?” well when you are part of a fanbase that loves its fans just as much as the team/franchise itself, that’s when you know that there is an unbreakable bond.

This is a lifetime membership, and my collection will reflect that for many years to come.

729E7EC9-3C9E-4DDF-8534-9CBE033EC464.jpeg

Sort:  

There ya go cuz....more stuff like this.

Cheers again buddy.

I dig the room. Pretty sweet stuff.

Thanks, it’s a work in progress at the minute, more stuff to go in it soon.

Congratulations @britchief! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44