🏀 My DFS Results - Draft Kings NBA $1M OPENING TIP OFF [$250K TO 1ST]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports6 years ago

Unknown-3.png

Yesterday afternoon I received an email from DraftKings with a 'special offer': A free $3 NFL Ticket with a paid entry into their NBA Opening Tip Off contest. The entry cost was $8 with a top prize of $250,000. (You know, that really isn't much after Uncle Sam get's after it...)

Being the sucker for value that I am, and already interested, but inexperienced, in DFS basketball, I figured I'd give it a shot. Since the waning days of baseball's regular season, I've been ruminating on which sport I ought to try my hand at next (in addition to the NFL): hockey or basketball? After brief investigation, combined with my general apathy towards hockey, I had all but decided to go the NBA Way when this offer popped up in my Inbox.

Basketball, it is. And what better night to get started than Opening Night?

I don't possess great knowledge about hoops, but I do lightly follow the sport as the Celtics are pretty big around here. And since I subscribe to a few of the Line-Up Optimizer products, my approach was pretty simple: Choose two of the top projected scorers on the card, and click the Optimize button to generate a line-up.

Bingo.

This was really a flier as fliers go. Projected points were 272. After a brief check as to the average winning totals for contests of this size, I determined that this ought to be enough, as research shows exactly 272 points is usually good enough to prevail.

Survey Says:

Screen Shot 2018-10-17 at 4.04.52 PM.png

Rookie luck prevails as my entry scored 277.25 points, good enough for 19,940th place out of 147,058 entries, a Top 14 percent finish in the field. The highest scoring 30800 entries, or so, actually cashed.

Why made this truly a fun sweat was the fact that I had just three players in the first game, Philadelphia @ Boston. Following that game, my DFS entry was in 98,000th place. However, over the course of the second game, I was leaping the field by tens of thousands of places at a time as Golden State's Steph Curry and Kevin Durant ran up their totals on their way to a 108-100 win over Oklahoma City.

Granted, this was a min-cash for $12, but adding in the $3 NFL ticket pushed my ROI to 93.75%. Now, if only I could just get my 401k to post returns like that...

The moral of this story? Apparently any idiot can win playing Daily Fantasy NBA on DraftKings. And tonight, I just might take another three point shot ($3 entry) into my new DFS distraction...

Good luck with your bets and favorite teams!

Sort:  

Nice dude! I laughed at your moral of the story, haha. When there's only 2 games on the slate it makes it a lot easier. What I've found is that once it's an entire slate of games, that's when it gets a lot more difficult. You're best off playing 50/50s and double ups, but of course that's not near as fun as chasing the big prizes, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82