You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today in History : Babe Ruth plays final game in Yankee stadium

in #sports5 years ago

You are probably right. I remember a long time ago watching the movie Cobb with Tommy Lee Jones I think it was and it seems that the life style the babe lived was not unique to him.

Sort:  

Something else you might find interesting: When Ruth was on vacation in England some people who knew who he was tried to introduce him to cricket. Like most Americans who play baseball, they think they will do well but can't get accustomed to the batsman stance that cricketers use. He couldn't hit like that so he switched up to a baseball stance.... He hit the ball with such force it took them some time to find the ball and he shattered the bat.

Haha, that is pretty funny. I have been trying to learn more about cricket, but I can't even understand the fundamental basics.

I played it a few times but i couldn't break my mindset of lining up at the plate in a baseball stance -it's just built into my DNA at this point. The idea is to protect the wickets and not necessarily hit the crud outta the ball.

I've always thought it was funny when i would see a cricket score and see it was 247-3 thinking that was the score.... thinking the Golden State Warriors were playing an elementary school team.

As it turns out that score means something entirely different.

Yeah, that is what really confuses me. The score and all of the terminology. I need a cricket for dummies book or something :)

He's still playing baseball. But in a different field! HIT SOME RUNS UP THERE GEORGE!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44