You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The College Football Playoff is a Joke – With Supporting Facts and Opinions

in #sports7 years ago

Absolutely agree. The whole thing is a joke. I'm not an Ohio state fan but they got screwed so hard. The committee is so far up Alabama's ass that they just couldn't possibly have a playoff without them. I just don't understand why they're too damn stupid to make it 8 teams. Season is too long? Shit it's one extra game, take away a cupcake game and it's the same. Too much money in bowl games? Uhh just make bowl games part of the playoff. This isn't rocket science. I know I repeated some of what you said but you got me all fired up.

Sort:  

Yeah. I mean, they already have a blueprint for a real playoff format for college football. And they already incorporated traditional major bowl games into the current three-game format. Just extend the playoff game locations to bowls like the Cotton or Gator Bowls.

There’s absolutely no reason why an eight-team playoff can’t happen. The problem is that these ADs and presidents don’t want it to happen. They’re a bunch of old guys stuck on their power brokering and the “old tradition” of voting for “champions.”

It’s just a stupid, archaic system. I’m surprised that the athletes and coaches are OK with this. If I were them, I’d be demanding a legitimate playoff.

Exactly. It's all politics and old guys with power. I wonder if the players/coaches don't do more because they are afraid of backlash. They would need a majority of the big schools to stand together so they're not worried about being singled out during the next 'playoff' talk. Someonee who is well known needs to grow some balls and start raising hell and getting people behind them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55