MLB DFS - 5/4/2018 - Winning Plays

in #sports6 years ago

Hey All,

I unfortunately don't have much time today to post my typical in-depth analysis of my favorite pitchers and stacks for tonights main MLB slate.  The research is done and I have my favorites so you can trust that the information I've provided below is based off my own research and plays that I intend to employ in my own lineups.  Feel free to comment with any questions you might have or other plays you like tonight.  

For MLB, I am splitting these articles up into pitching and team stacks, as that is how I play. Personally, I mostly play GPP type tournaments so stacking several players from one team is a strategy I never go without.  Stacking (choosing several players from 1 lineup) is a great strategy for MLB DFS that I highly suggest you look into our bread my other articles explaining.  All pricing will be based off Fanduel’s settings, as this is currently my favorite platform.  Stats are derived primarily from FanGraphs with some random exceptions such as ESPN. If you haven’t already, feel free to follow my referral links and sign up for Fanduel and Draftkings: 


Enjoy and please comment with thoughts and suggestions.


Photo Courtesy of USA Today

Tonight we are looking at a massive slate with not necessarily the best pitching.  However, we have some very hittable arms taking the mound tonight that should make stacking really fun.  As of this writing your top implied team run totals included New York Yankees, Oakland, Houston, Boston, and Minnesota.  Each with a run total over 5 (Yankees over 6).  For your lowest totals tonight, you are looking at Tampa Bay, Arizona, San Diego, Texas, and Colorado.  

Pitchers

I am going to have to make this quick, with very little insight.  If you have any questions, please feel free to post them in the comments and I will address them up until lock tonight.  

Rick Porcello

I haven't started him all year but tonight looks like a first.  Porcello has a great matchup against a weak Texas lineup tonight.  Texas has struggled all year, especially against right handers, and offers up one of the top 3 strikeout %'s vs. right handers of all of MLB.  Porcello on the other hand has pitched well all season and has shown flashes of strikeout upside.  He is also a huge favorite for the win and Texas has one of the lowest implied team totals at 3.86.  Porcello is a safe play tonight with some upside.  

Jose Berrios

Jose is an electric young pitcher that has shown massive upside over the last couple of seasons.  He faces off against the White Sox tonight who don't have the greatest offense vs. right handers but also don't have the weakest.  It is an ok matchup for a guy that offers massive upside in terms of strikeouts.  The White Sox have a low implied team total of 3.94, which shows that Vegas is also on the side of Berrios.  

Walker Buehler

This call is simply based off how terrible San Diego has been this year vs. left handers.  Buehler has only a handful of starts this year at the MLB level but in those he has faired well, striking out over 1 per inning pitched.  San Diego on the other hand can't hit left handers and also offers up one of the highest strikeout lineups vs. left handers in the league. 

CC Sabathia

This one is a little crazy as Cleveland has a really good lineup that has started to heat up over the last couple of weeks.  However, if you are trying to fit some elite bats tonight, you need to save some money on pitching.  If I am going cheap, my guy is Sabathia.  Sabathia over his career (but not recently) has pitched well against the team that drafted him, Cleveland.  Not only that but he has pitched very well to start the season.   Cleveland ranks middle of the pack in terms of left handers but if my memory serves me right, has struggled over the years vs. southpaws.  Its not the greatest matchup but one that I am willing to risk to get some big bats and stacks.  He is also a decent favorite to get the win. 

Stacks

New York Yankees

Alright, I don't have to throw you any numbers for you to understand that the Yankees have one of the most dangerous lineups in baseball today.  Well today they get to face off (tee off) against Tomlin.  Tomlin is just plain awful and I've stacked against him successfully all year.  This may be chalk but I don't care, Tomlin sucks.  Stack the Yankees anyway you can and enjoy. 

Boston Red Sox

The Red Sox implied team total has seemed to drop a little since this morning, so I am hoping that helps with ownership.  They face off against Bartolo Colon tonight.  Everyone loves Colon and he most recently flirted with a perfect game.  However, not tonight, not against the elite Red Sox lineup.  Colon offers no strikeouts and Boston does not strikeout as a team vs. right handers.  That means a ton of contact and I can't imagine it going well for Colon.  I will be stacking Boston anyway I can tonight.  Oh, and the game is in Texas, a hitters park.  Good luck not having any Red Sox players. 



Thats really it.  Sorry for keeping it short and quick but I just don't have time to add a ton of detail.  This should serve you well and I am excited for what we have ahead of us tonight.  But do your own research as there are other interesting players and teams to pivot to such as Minnesota and Oakland.  Good luck and lets win some money!

Sort:  

This post proves to be a worthy post for the #greetersguild initiative, bringing knowledge, people, and resources together for new users to succeed on the steemit blockchain. Support @terminallyill the visionary behind this cause and whom summoned me to upvote your post.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88