Premier League - Matchweek 1 Recap - What Team Impressed The Most?

in #sports7 years ago

Matchweek 1 Recap

Holy shit! What a first matchweek in Premier League. Chelsea defeated by Burnley at Stamford Bridge with Fabregas and Cahill sent off. Liverpool didn't manage to win against Watford, and Arsenal defense looked like a Championship defense playing Barcelona.

The Manchester clubs looks promising


lukaku.jpg

Mourinho & co got off a great start in the Premier League. The defense looked better than last year, but the offense looked even better. Lukaku did what we all had expected. Scoring goals. Scoring two and having the chance of getting his hattrick is a great start for the former Everton player. Mkhitaryan contributed with two assists, while Pogba scored late in the game. Man United will not play a top 6 team before october, and could get on a great run before their first "big" match.

Not much to say about Manchester City. They did the job. They looked in control. I did not think they looked as dangerous as I had expected. With players and a manager like Guardiola I had expected much more. Maybe they need time to adjust the new formation, but they looked like a team only playing 80 % on what they are capable of.


A trip through London


arsenal.jpg

What a nightmare. Two red cards. Defeat at home in a must win match. Fabregas and Cahill suspended for the coming London derby against Tottenham. They already have Hazard, Babayako, and Moses out due to injury. The only players who looked promising was Morata and Willian. Morata looked very eager to show what he is capable of and he did with a goal and an assist. Willian will keep shining until Hazard is back is my bet, but is Willian enough for Chelsea against Tottenham. I don't think so.

Arsenal? Wow. It looked like a classic Arsenal opening game. Being down two times during 90 minutes and still securing three points is impressive and depressive at the same time for an Arsenal fan. Lacazette was a constant thread and should have scored one more. Other than that I really believe in Xhaka this year. Look out for him. He started off well with two assists.

Tottenham secured a 0-2 victory, which might be even more important than you think. Tottenham is playing Chelsea next week, and could already secure a 6 points gap to Chelsea within the first two games of the season. Eriksen made two assists, and he will keep doing that. Kane is yet to start firing, but I am sure he will, and what a great way to do it against Chelsea.


The other teams


I had predicted a great game from Huddersfield with Ince and Mounie, but not that great. Taking into consideration the next fixtures of Huddersfield, you might want to add them to your team.

Leicester did well against Arsenal and Vardy might have another great season. I could easily see him making at least 15 goals this season.

I had expected more from Bournemouth. They played a horrible game, but I still believe in them. Watch out for Afobe and Ibe in the coming games.


Image sources: 1,2


Sort:  

Good read. I agree about the Manchester clubs. United impressed andCity looked decent. Unfortunately, I predicted United to win the league this year. I feel like City overspent on their transfers and that United acquired a couple of great fits for their squad in Lukaku and Matic.

Looking forward to Spurs v Chelsea on Sunday!

Thank you. I also predict United to win. They have a very easy fixture until october, so if they can win most of the games until then, they look gooooood!

Arsenal as usual looked sluggish with their defense.
Attack is as classy as ever.

True. I think it will improve with Mustafi and Koscielny returning soon.

I enjoyed reading this !

Thanks! What is your team?

I'm a sports bettor, so whatever team that offers value :)
I enjoy the game and support teams that bring an offensive style.

Huddersfield 'not that great'.

They won by three goals away from home on their Premier League debut!

I had predicted a great game from Huddersfield with Ince and Mounie, but not that great. That's the full sentence. Read it again ;)

Spurs v Chelsea is a huge game this early in the season. It'll be at Wembley and Spurs' first game there so it'll feel like a cup final!
(I know you want to hear all about Spurs!!!)

Spurs are used to a small pitch, and Wembley is a bigger one. I think they will suffer from that.

Man Utd looked lethal with Lukaku, Rashford and Mkhitaryan.
We need to see how they perform against the big teams.

Yes. It will be exciting to see against the bigger teams. But what a deadly offense!

Mourinho's tactics of parking the bus against bigger teams really sucks. Hope he does not repeat with this deadly offense

Fun to read there @arsenal49! We'll see if United can keep up that level of play when they face the top clubs, but a great start for them (and City), and a phenomenal opening weekend for the Premier League!

Hope you'll take a look at my recap as well!

https://steemit.com/sports/@patcole02/premier-league-matchweek-1-results-and-reactions

Thanks!

Thanks. I took a look at yours as well and I liked it. :)

Bad leg for me and worse is yet to come...i have 4 players in chelsea-spurs game. A 3-3 would do the trick i guess :D

Haha yes. Maybe 4-4.

We will bounce back Chelsea

I don't see you doing it against Tottenham, but I might be wrong.

It was a great matchweek!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81