SPORTIVE DENTISTRY: BEYOND THE IMPACT

in #sport6 years ago

ciclo image.jpg
Source of Image:
http://www.ciclismoafondo.es/preparacion-fisica/entrenamiento-ciclismo/articulo/Test-utiles-medir-rendimiento-ciclismo

When we were children we collected the figures of "Panini Album" of each football world Cup Championship , I remember myself and my brothers watching all of those crooked faces, mounted teeth, asymmetric profiles, postures, and a wide range of situations that now after many years make sense in my professional life as a dentist.

Sports dentistry goes beyond the treatment of the blow, loss or fracture of teeth and the use of an appropriate or customized protector. An infectious focus in the mouth constantly releases toxins that produce chronic inflammation in tissues of the body distant from it, which can generate joint injuries, cramps, loss of strength, fatigue, tear that in aggravated cases can even lead to tendonitis and difficulty in recovery, factors that for an athlete, whether professional or amateur, are determinant for their performance.

In addition to infections, cavities, injuries and traumas; other factors such as breathing through the mouth, decreases the supply of oxygen to the body which alters the cellular metabolism and could cause constipation, pain of all kinds, lack of elasticity and exhaustion.

The European Society of Cardiology has reported in its latest guidelines for the prevention of cardiovascular disease that periodontal disease is a cardiovascular risk factor, as often as chronic kidney disease and sleep apnea.

I want to share the experience of Xavi Xampeny, athlete and patient of Biodent Solutions:

"In my experience as an amateur athlete, I have been able to verify the decrease in performance due to dental problems.
In top-level athletes it is a taboo subject, possibly because, in addition to disinformation, it is important to keep sporting rivals away from this issue even more when the lack of performance has been resolved.

My particular case highlighted the problems due to the presence of dental amalgams, the infection produced by the wisdom teeth, the fistula in the gum as a result of a bad nerve treatment, a perforated and maladjusted porcelain metal sheath and finally the occlusion problems; All of above led my body to experience poor performance during training and competition, mood and vitality that was reflected in the measurements made during my training sections and that were detected by measuring the pulse and by the unexplained low power, I have no doubt these were consequences of oral problems.

Once the dental treatment was done, the measurements shown another results. I have gradually recovered my rhythm and until now I have not had any problems in my competitions! "

Note: Original post also published on the blog of my website www.biodentsolutions.com
sport impact.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45