Did Conor fight to win or to be paid?

in #sport7 years ago

Conor McGregor vs Floyd Mayweather [FIGHT HIGHLIG…:

Did Conor McGregor, an UFC fighter, actually believe that he had a chance against Floyd Mayweather an undefeated boxing legend??

In my opinion I do not believe that Conor thought that he would win. Coming from a sport with shorter fights I don't believe he was adequatly equiped to spoil Mayweathers undefeated title.

I am not saying that McGregor did it entirely for the huge cheque that he would walk home with, regardless of if he won or lost however his after fight celebrations despite his loss do make it seem as if he did it more for the 💰.

But I'd love to hear your thoughts on the matter and I do believe Conor McGregor put on one heck of a fight and held composure almost throughout the fight

Sort:  

First, I'm not usually a boxing fan and I kind of hate UFC fights but the weight and hype behind this fight made me interested and I wanted to experience it live since it seemed like a very big event. So take everything I say with a grain of salt coming from an outsider.

His intentions before the fight and whether or not he thought he could actually win is harder to figure out. Given his tenpterkent and attitude in the media, I think it's easy to think he might have actually thought he could win. I don't think he did it just for the money in any case. If he didn't think he could win, o think he did it for the sport of it all and to cement his notoriously cocky and ambitious reputation.

Now, on the subject of if he fought to win, I think he definitely did. He was just in over his head after the first few rounds. He put up a good fight and I think he gained a lot of respect just for doing it. The guy had so much money that I'm sure the fun and reputation boost meant more.

I think it is all for the money but he still tried to win win or lose its positive for him, the sure $30 million already says it all + the earnings on the PPV and ticket sales. Biggest pay day for McGregor, he is laughing to the bank.

I agree I do think he put in effort but idk if anybody on Mcgregors side even thought he had a real chance of success

Yes the chance was slim beating one of the greatest boxers which has a record of 49-0, I noticed the punches of McGregor did not have power as he was not using his legs to power up his punches like normal boxers do.

Yh the lack experience that McGregor had 12 round boxing matches was obvious and he used the majority of his stamina in rounds 1-3. By round 6 it was clear his fatigue was making him weak

Yes that was also an issue he really tired by round 6. But he did well for starters against an Undefeated World Champion Boxer did not go down and made it last to the 10th round, also getting some of the early rounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48