Favorite Sports Radio Hosts

in #sport7 years ago

So I'm a bit of a sports radio junkie and love listening on my long drives to/from work. I've been treated to some great radio hosts due to where I've lived in the US. Here's my favorites that I've listened to extensively (a year or more)

  • Boers & Bernstien - 670 The Score - Chicago, IL
    • Awesome pairing, straight-man and the jock. Boers is knowledgeable and Bernstien is a damn encyclopedia. The inside jokes fly all afternoon, tons of great history to reference, listening for awhile will payoff with being in on a lot of the jokes. Pretty balanced, but more fun than in-depth analysis. Can be a bit of homers at time, but
  • Mike Valenti - 97.1 The Ticket - Detroit, MI
    • A solid, tell-it-like-it-is type host. Will praise a team for their good play, but has no problem ripping a team for their faults. Calls out bullshit when he sees it and he's got local roots. Great analysis, good team working with him, and "Foul Feedback" is one of my favorite bits on radio. Many think he's an opinionated jerk, but I understand him better than alot of hosts that are similar, such as...
  • Dan LeBetard - 790 The Ticket - Miami, FL
    • So LeBetard's show is mainly a TV show now, but back in 2004, he was primarily on the radio and he was a shock jock back then too. A bit of a Stern wannabe, but you're gonna be depending on his guests for a lot of the actual sports info, of which he gets a bunch of great ones. I thought that the hosts in Chicago were homers, but this guy blew me away.

I've been fortunate to listen to other radio hosts and announcers while road tripping and whatnot, but I feel I've got enough of a sample size with these guys to recommend them. Got a bunch more i like, but what do you guys think

Which brings me to my question, Who are some of your favorite hosts? I'm gonna be looking for new stuff to listen to and would love to get some opinions from you guys. Throw a comment and let me know. Thanks!

Sort:  

Arnie Spanier - fox sports radio, I think. I've always liked him.

I used to host a sports radio talk show for my college radio station years ago. Good times.

But during football season, I listen to WTMJ 620AM in Milwaukee (Go Pack Go!). I listen to it online since I actually live in Maine. So yes, I'm a Packers fan in the heart of Pats nation.

The Bill Simmons Podcast, Inside the NBA, Hard Knocks, SportsCenter, Fox NFL Sunday, Boomer and Carton, College GameDay, and Lucha Underground are all great shows, if you are looking for some sports insights. follow me @jzeek thanks.

I loved Bill Simmons when he was on ESPN and i just never picked up when he "left" (read: kicked off for bashing the NFL, which he was absolutely right to do, FWIW)

He has some great long form pieces and has a great blend of humor and genuine storytelling.

I'll definitely check these out when i visit the US.

Please do, I'd be happy to help with some web streams if you'd like a primer.

However, if you're outside of the US, what is sports radio like overseas?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50