Parents in sportsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sport6 years ago

If ever you have stood next to any type of sports arena you would have witnessed both the beauty and ugliness of sport. Parents. While most support their kids both financially and emotionally, you get those few that live vicariously through their kids lives. When does support become abuse. Not sure, but you definitely can see it when you watch kids doing sport. And not necessary at the highest level


Image Credit

My kids are both active and reasonable performers. As they both swim, I decided that I will contribute by doing a judge's course and officiate at gala's. These gala's are run by volunteer officials just like me, giving of their time for the kids to be able to compete. There are many parents in the stands that never ever give anything. Yet you will find them the most critical and self absorbed lot. I have seen parents scream at kids that do not make their times, or have a bad race. I have seen kids in tears. I have seen parents bad mouthing competitors of their kids. This is not the spirit of sport, and I believe ultimately this is the reason many kids stop sport when they leave school (and their parents house)


Image Credit

Do not get me wrong, the parent is central to getting kids to do sport, and most are wonderfully supportive and involved. But those few that are so self absorbed in their own issues are the ones that stand out. I feel for those kids. They are the youth performers that one always asks later in life, "I wonder what happened to..."

SportsPodium will not fix everything, but we can help young sportspeople to broaden their engagement with people and hopefully having less of a focus from their parents will help to make them last longer in sport.

Join the conversation and community on Telegram @ https://t.me/SportsPodiumPublic

Sort:  

I was a football coach for 7/8 year olds. Parents disgusted some of the sport, shouting on the field during games or training.
I had to chat with some because it blocked their children; too bad

I agree. Coaches and officials have to much of this to endure. Not from the kids. From the parents

Oh my parents was not like any game my life is damage very sad for me.

Sorry to hear

if you help me plzz upvotes my comments as your wish

What about the parents that physically assault the referees. This is becoming a problem more and more.

Congratulations @sportspodium, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 277 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2800.35. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks for a great post.

very nice blog. keep posting this kind of blogs. I up voted and followed you.

Postingan yang sangat bagus.
Sudah saya Resteem dan Upvote artikel anda demi kemajuan dan maju bersama.
Hidup Steemit
Very good post.
I have Resteem and Upvote your article for progress and forward together.
Steemit
.
.

I feel sorry for those child with parents with foul mouth.. let the kid play the way he is and not the way you want them to be. I've some child with bad parents. in the end yhe child cheat jist to please their parent in the game..poor child.

You are right. In the end the child suffers. That is not right.

Congratulations @sportspodium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75