Training Vlog #1

in #sport7 years ago

Hey guys so here's my first Training Vlog for you. I'll upload one Training video weekly and share them with along with explainations and some insight I've gained over time about training and movement.

So today I have footage of my Lowerbody session (sorry no warm up included - next time ;)). I'll outline how I go about my training sessions.

Before I get into the actual training I'll warm up. 2 things I usually try to cover with my warm up.

One: I pick a weakness like an underdeveloped structure or muscle and would do some remedial work to improve activation and integration of that particular structure or muscle. Right now I start every session with some rotator cuff work and some glute medius work. I'll post a video about that in the future. I would work on these two things regardless of whether I have a lower or upperbody session coming up.

Two: I'll do two exercises that are very specific for the upcoming session. In this case I did some stretching for my calves and some back extensions on a GHD.
Why the calves? Since squats were the first exercise of today's session I want to maximize mobility in the ankles. I use a seated calve raise machine to stretch out for 30 to 45 seconds right after the stretch I would do 20 to 30 bodyweight calve raises to activate the muscles. I just do one set.
Next back extensions on a GHD for 3 sets for 8 reps. I'll do them to activate the posterior chain, and to stretch the hamstrings.

Here's the workout!
I started of with backsquats following this structure:

2 sets 5 reps - 70 kg (not in the video because that's just a further warm up)
2 sets 4 reps - 100 kg (these 2 sets should be reasonably heavy but not strain you)
2 sets 3 reps - 110 kg (these 2 sets should should challenge you but not to your limit)
2 sets 2 reps - 120 kg (the second rep on each set should be really tough)
2 sets 1 rep 130 kg (this will not be your maximum weight rather some weight you can handle with perfect form)

After the Squats to finish the Session I did Snatch Deadlifts. These are fantastic for the Glutes and the Quads.
I did:

2 sets 4 reps - 70 kg
2 sets 3 reps - 100 kg

The Snatch Deadlift really forces you to maximise the use of your quads to drive the weight of the floor. You really need to pay attention on maintaining a stable hip. If you lose your hip position your hamstrings will turn on and that's something you want to avoid in this exercise.

Next week I'll post an upperbody session. Until then enjoy your training :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56828.09
ETH 2368.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26