Have the 49ers found their new franchise quarterback?

in #sport7 years ago

Having been a fan of the 49ers since my dad used to work near Fisherman's Wharf, my youth was blessed with two of the all time greats leading the Red and Gold (you know who they are).

Today, it looks like the 9ers secured their field general for at least the next 5 years.

Jimmy Garoppolo is reportedly being signed for a 5 year, $137.5M contract.  If you're a 9er fan, for better worse like I am, this is a HUGE relief.  Watching him play the second half of last season was like noticing the most spectacular mirage: are my eyes deceiving me?  Is Garappolo really that good?  Did we actually land our QB of the future?

With GM John Lynch and HC Kyle Shanahan at the helm, I believe so.  Even despite Garappolo only having started 7 games (with a perfect 7-0 record), I'm guessing it may only take half the season before every remaining 49er fan is completely convinced that he's worth every penny for the 4.5 seasons to follow.

And if Lynch and Shanahan can fill out the roster through the draft and a great FA period, we won't have to wait long before the 49ers are competitive again.  Watch out, NFL.  Especially you, Seattle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52