You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will we ever stop comparing NBA players from different epochs?

in #sport6 years ago

Basketball isn't as big of a thing here in Germany, so what you describe here goes largely unnoticed by me.

What I can say though is that this isn't exclusive to Basketball. Taking Martial Arts as an example, you will never stop seeing and hearing comparisons to a certain Bruce Lee in some way, shape or form. I am sure that similar things hold true for other sports as well.

Hell, not even sports, let's go even one step further and take the arts into account.

Heath Ledger played an amazing joker and died. Now everyone who plays the Joker after him is being compared to him. Just as every other Batman actor is being compared to Keaton or Bale in some way or form.

I never thought much of it, but now I really notice how much of a thing that is. I am not yet sure if it annoys me.

Sort:  

Comparisons are normal and they will always be here, point is that we should have respect even if participants are not our favorites :-)

I even take it one step further and say that we shouldn't let past favorites get in the way of making new ones.

Well said :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43