You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where on Wednesday: Seventeen - "Sending it" for sport

in #sport5 years ago

That's some insane marksmanship. I remember in the army, I could usually hit a man-sized target at a quarter of that distance. The steyr had a 1.5x scope though, so hardly sniper grade hardware.
I can't imagine how steady your hands would need to be.

Sort:  

Yeah, it's easier with my Kahles 6-24x56 rifle scope. The old 1.5x would never get out that far. Designed for different purposes with about 300m being the range I guess. You would have had sharp-shooters in support of general infantry I assume, all doing the same things I do.

Being steady is important. Load the bi-pod forward, brace the butt-stock with a shooting bag or hand, breath in and out to about the natural pause in breathing then squeeze the trigger. The break should come as somewhat as a surprise. Other factors too of course, but that's essentially it. Takes a lot of practice...Many rounds.

I remember one day I had my cheek too far forward, and the scope hit me in the eyebrow.
I knew changing my position would wreck my grouping, so I just fired the last 4 rounds 'forgetting' that the scope was going to hit me again. That took some mental fortitude; and delivered a nice shiner.
Passed the shoot though. Worth it to not spend another week in Basic Training.

Haha...We call that scope-eye. It's happened to everyone. I have a very close head-position in relation to the scope so get close to it most times I shoot. Not pleasant, but probably way better than another week in basic.

bro i love the post images they make me feel legit outdoors and like im in middle america, where alex jones voice rings free :D

come to http://infowarsdapp.com soon ill promote on sports!!!

Middle America, middle Australia: Same, but different. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53