Roller Derby

in #sport7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I hope you are all having a fabulous day :)
I did not mention in it my introduction post, but I am a derby girl and a huge roller derby fan!

So, what is roller derby?
Women's Flat Track Roller Derby (WFTDA) is a sport that is played on roller skates on a track. Each team consists of a jammer and four blockers. A jammer scores points by passing the opposing blockers and each play (called a jam) lasts for two minutes unless a jammer calls it off. A jam can be called off only by a lead jammer. A lead jammer is the jammer that got through the pack (or the opposing blockers) first, leaving the other jammer behind.

victoria-vs-gotham-rankings-e1491504201379.jpg
Team Victoria, photo credit: WTFDA website: https://wftda.com/victoria-takes-top-spot-in-wftda-rankings/

crossover.jpg
A Jammer wears a helmet cover with a star. Photo credit: https://svrollergirls.wordpress.com/roller-derby-a-glossary/

A lot of people do not realize how hard those athletes work. The leagues are ran by their own players, we organize everything - advertising, promotion, sales and training. We also meet up for practices, twice or three times a week and a scrimmage (a game where we play one another).

I have been practicing derby with three leagues, NH Roller Derby, Granite State Roller Derby and now I am skating with Bear City Roller Derby here in Berlin. This sport made me tougher, more confident and made me love my body (I used to be called "too skinny" or "too boney" - in roller derby the shape of your body does not matter). We also get to choose our jersey number and a derby name (how fun!) - mine was #87 Avada Kedavra (muggles: it is a killing curse).

Ava_2016.jpgaaa.jpg
This is me #87 in the New Hampshire Roller Derby jersey :)

Thanks to roller derby I also met a lot of amazing and inspirational men and women. I have been through some rough times and derby was the thing that really kept me going. I received nothing but support and understanding while I battled anxiety and depression and dropped out twice. Each one of those amazing people taught me something new and I will be forever grateful.

The information I provided is all very basic, if you would want to find out more, please leave a comment below, I will be more than happy to answer :)

Here are some more pictures of me playing roller derby :

aaa.jpg
My amazing derby bff Valkyrie

IMG-20160313-WA0021.jpg
Blocking during a scrimmage using "the claw"

FB_IMG_1452483716619.jpg
My very first scrimmage

20151206_163052.jpg
My impressive bruises :P

Sort:  

Congratulations @kate2301! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kate2301! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75