Eden Hazard and Thibaut Courtois won’t talk contract until after the World Cup

in #sport6 years ago

Chelsea's two Belgium stars, Thibaut Courtois and Eden Hazard are both hoping for contract extensions. Both have given indications to sign for the club for another stint, Hazard did as recently as January while Courtois just this week. And both said they want a clear mind going for the world cup this summer.

Where they part ways is about getting the clear mind.

Thibaut Courtois says he just want to know where he stands comes the end of the season, maybe he'll have a new deal or going into the tournament knowing it'll be handled later. Its easy.

Hazard isn't. He wants to clear off the thoughts of any contract negotiations until Russia is done and cleared.
Hazard-Courtois-Chelsea-940539.jpg
“Look, I’m going to finish the season first, then play the World Cup and then I’ll leave on holiday.

“We’ll see what happens next. I haven’t thought about it yet; I have another two years’ contract with Chelsea. I am very happy. I just think about the end of the season and the World Cup.”

The bit about being very happy is something he’s said more than once. At some point we have to take him at his word that he’s not longing for the warm embrace of Spanish weather and Real Madrid.

After the loss to Manchester City, in which he again played as a striker, the inexhaustible media rumor mill spent a lot of energy spinning stories that Hazard would leave Chelsea if Conte used him out of position again. On Monday Eden spiked those stories. Emphatically.

“I just want to be on the pitch. No 9 or No 10. I can play left-back if the manager wants me to, no problem.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36