Gaz's Week of Sporting Stress. Issue 3

in #sport6 years ago (edited)

Anyone that knows me or is familiar with my blog knows that I love my sport and I am particularly passionate about the teams that I support. Week on week the performance and results of these teams tend to dictate my daily mood. I have had the idea of documenting the trials and tribulations of following my sporting teams, to share the stress and see whether it can give me a little therapy and, in turn, give you guys maybe a few laughs and an insight into my temporary insanity.

text09.png

This week of sporting stress started on Thursday night with the Packers v The Chiefs in the final preseason exhibition game. This forth game is where the bottom of the roster fight it out for the remaining few positions in the squad. The Pack even had 22 starting players that didn’t even fly to Kansas let alone not suit up. Again, in Bucharest, the game was in the middle of the night so I wasn’t planning on staying up.

Show Me The Money

In the meantime, Aaron Rodgers had sorted out his new contract that makes him the highest paid player in NFL history. It is a four year extension to his existing two years and will guarantee that he is a Cheesehead for the rest of his career. He is scheduled to make 80 million dollars by St Patrick's day in 2019 just for starters. It’s a $134 million dollar extension with $103 million in guaranteed money.

The GOAT

Is he worth it? Well in my honest opinion he is the best player in the NFL right now and you could argue about him being the best QB ever! Yes! I think he’s worth it. I would like to think that the finances are not hit that hard that we cannot add talent to the team in the next few years. If the salary cap numbers are that huge then I don’t understand why team and player would do it. To me it would just mean hurting A-Rods chances of making it back to the big game and at this stage of his career; he’s 35 soon and pretty rich, that’s got to be his priority.

Trade Alert

In other news, the Packers have traded Brett Hundley to the Seattle Seahawks for a 6th round pick. I was a little surprised that they were able to trade him but it does make sense of all the priority snaps he’s been getting in the preseason. They were clearly putting him in the shop window for other teams to observe. He has made improvement in his game; with a little more pocket poise and slightly better accuracy, but not enough to justify selecting him in the 53 man roster. It’s now down to Kizer and Boyle to show what they can do against The Chiefs.

A Work in Progress

In the opening moments of the game it was clear that the pass protection was an improvement on the previous debacle against the Raiders. Jason Spriggs the primary backup at Left Tackle was doing a fine job but the whole line were stepping up. Which makes DeShone Kizer’s gross overthrow to Lance Kendricks over the middle so much worse to comprehend. When you see the replay it looks as if DeShone is aiming for the safety who is 10-15 yards deeper. Sure enough, with a little athleticism, the safety picked him off! A Poor start from Kizer. The second series was much better with a blend of run and pass, good pocket awareness and finishing with a beautiful arc to Geronimo Allison for the TD.

From Starter to Practice Squad in 15 Minutes (not really)

Tim Boyle took over and his first two series were outstanding. He looked like a guy fighting for the backup spot, showing accuracy, arm strength, poise and confidence. Both of his first two drives culminating in TD’s, one for Tonyan, the TE hoping for a roster spot and the other from Aaron Jones, who will be suspended for the first two games. After that it went a little awry! Interceptions and eratic throws blighting his great start to the night. There is clearly some talent there though and he has at least a shot at making the team.

The Packers failed to score a single point in the second half which isn’t great but at least they were winning at half time when the guys with a realistic shot at the 53 were playing. As for the defence, they looked fairly passive and vanilla all evening and I’m not sure anybody stood out or we could glean anything from it.

Final score 33 - 21 the the Chiefs

September 1st 2018 - Cut down day

I previously had a guess at the initial 53 roster for cut down down so let's see how I did.
47 out of 53 correct. Aaron Jones is suspended for two games and isn’t required to be on the initial 53 which I didn’t know about. Of the players I missed 3 were on my practice squad, Tim Boyle, Robert Tonyan and Raven Greene. The three that I completely missed were Alex Light OL, James Crawford LB and Herb Waters CB.

The practice squad predictions were very hit and miss. 4 correct and another 3 actually made the 53. I missed on 3 players.

Even now, the squad is changing and evolving. They have placed Jake Kumerow on IR and released Herb Waters. They have brought in LB Korey Toomer and RB Darius Jackson. It will probably continue to change as we head into the opening game of the regular season.

This is the Packers centenary year and they are opening at home against their old rival Chicago Bears. This is the oldest rivalry in the league and is also a rivalry in our household as my wife has been a Bears fan since the mid eighties. It should be a fun build up and aftermath! All good (as long as we win!)

The game kicks off at 7:20 CDT on Sunday which will be 3:20am for us in Bucharest. Go Pack Go!

Bristol Rovers

Bristol Rovers were playing Shrewsbury Town at the New Meadow on Saturday 1st. This was a big game for both teams because their start has been less than impressive. As usual I was watching on iFollow and streaming the game from 3pm GMT +3

Rovers had made a couple of moves in the loan market before it closed on the Friday. They brought in goalkeeper Jack Bonham from Brentford and a left back Joe Martin from Stevenage.

Prediction League

The results from QPR

Parky, Chaney and Hols 7 players correct
Joe, Mark and Gaz 8 players correct (1pt each)

Table

Gaz 10 pts
Hols 5
Mark 3
Parky 2
Shaun 2
Joe 2
Laura 1
Geoff 1
Chaney 1

My Prediction for the Shrewsbury Game: Smith, J Clarke, Lockyer, Craig, Martin, Matthews, O Clarke, Upson, Rodman, Nichols, Payne.



Dirty Sheets

So Rovers started with the two new guys in the starting line up in Bonham in goal and Martin at left back. Could this help to shore up a very porous defence that just cannot keep a clean sheet for love nor money. Initially Rovers were the better team although it was clear that both teams were low on confidence. As has been the case for The Gas so far they were stroking the ball around nicely but without any real cutting edge. It seems to me that there are a few players that are under performing, low on confidence and are hiding.

Nice one Ollie

The breakthrough came from a great turn in the box from Ollie Clarke and the defender grabbed out and held him up. It was a really soft penalty but at the moment we will take every crumb of luck that comes our way. The penalty taker was going to be Stefan Payne who we recently signed from Shrewsbury so this was a pressure moment for him, the traveling Gasheads and my heart rate.

Sloooooooooow Mooootiooooooon

As is typical of these sorts of situations in football, they always seem to happen in slow motion. I’m really nervous for the guy as he steps up to take the penalty. He placed the ball and a Shrewsbury player was talking to him trying to put him off along with their fans behind the goal. He started his run up and the anxiety level was peaking. He made a reasonable contact with the ball and places it to the left side. My first instinct was ‘oh no’ the keeper has guessed the right way and was diving fully stretched out. He was going to get a hand on the ball. Fortunately there was enough pace on the shot that when the keeper made contact the power took it into the net. Goooooooooaaaaaaaaaaal! 0-1 Rovers

Seeing Red Again

The 600+ fans were ecstatic and making a great noise as they always do. Could this piece of fortune kick start our season, finally! Wishful thinking on my part. This team is just not getting the job done at the moment and we are frail when defending and it showed again. Shrewsbury had no choice but to come forward and put more pressure on our defence. The new goalie was playing well and, up until this point, so was Martin but in the space of a few minutes he had received two yellow cards and was sent off. The extra pressure from the Shrews was making the difference.

Do Shrews Have Tails?

We adjusted our formation to counteract having one less player on the field but you felt an inevitability about the equaliser and it wasn’t long in coming. In a move that saw our defenders pulled into all sorts of weird positions on the pitch we conceded. A cross came in hard and low and our late arriving defender smashed it into his own net. Awful defending all round. We still had 17 minutes to survive and the signs didn’t look good. The Shrews had their tails up and a team that looked to be struggling earlier in the game were now gaining confidence with every pass. To be fair to the rovers players they dug in and defended resolutely and held on for a previous point away from home.

Final Score: Shrewsbury 1 Bristol Rovers 1




The overall performance is so worrying that it’s hard to put your finger on exactly where to start. The manager Darrell Clarke is under pressure to get this season started otherwise not only will challenging for the playoffs be out of the question, but a relegation battle may ensue. Next up is a home tie versus Plymouth Argyle who are currently bottom of the table.

Dinamo Bucharest

Saturday evening saw a televised away fixture for Dinamo Bucharest versus Craiova. This stadium is the best facility in the league and as you will see in the clip, very impressive. Certainly compared to Stefan Cel Mare, anyway! Another tough away fixture for the team and after just edging past Hermannstadt in the last game would they have the belief to travel to Craiova and get a result.? It started well and the team looked to be on top early. Popa hit the post with a great effort and they were creating chances. Then against the run of play and seconds before half time, Craiova score a goal from a corner. An absolute bullet of a header and take a one nil lead into half time.

That knocked the stuffing out of the Dinamo boys and they struggled to regain that composure and passing freedom that they had in the first half. After an attack that broke down, Craiova countered quickly and caught Dinamo out to make it 2-0. Craiova were starting to dominate and after a spell of pressure added a third and effectively ended the contest.

It was a shame for the team because they started well only to fade at the end. Hopefully better days are to come.

Final Score: 3-0 Craiova



Next week is international week, so no Dinamo as Romania are playing on Saturday and Tuesday

More Romanian Football Madness

In this edition of Romanian football madness during a Europa league tie a Steaua player intercepts a tactics note on the field and snatches it off a Rapid Vienna player before he can return it.


Crazy Days!

Previous Issues:

Issue 1
Issue 2

That’s all for now. See you again next week.

Thanks for reading.

Gaz

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

@cheese4ead,

Geese man, you really do like your sports! I wouldn't argue with you ... about anything.

Just a quick question: Were you able to call the Super Bowl? If the answer is yes ... you have a new best friend. :-)

Great post.

Quill

SteemitBloggers

Thanks @quillfire

Do you mean calling the Superbowl at the start of the season or pre game?

For the season I think you would be hard pushed to look further than the Eagles, Falcons, Rams and Vikings (maybe the Packers) in the NFC and the Pats, Jags, Steelers and Chargers in the AFC.

Calling an individual game, especially the Superbowl, is really tough. If the Packers are involved then forget it! I'm completely blind when it comes to them.

Gaz

@cheese4ead,

I don't care about the details. I just want to wager on whatever you feel certain about. :-)

If the Packers are involved then forget it! I'm completely blind when it comes to them.

I assumed that that might be the case given your username. :-)

Quill

Really hard to gauge the results after the first week but if I was to give you a prediction right now I go for Rams v Pats.

@cheese4ead,

Excellent. I'm going to go send a few "pithy predictions" (yours) to my know-it-all older brother and pretend they were mine. He's always saying I don't know what I'm talking about regarding sports ... which is entirely true ... but he doesn't have to rub it in, does he? Time for a little middle-child push-back. :-)

Quill

Ha ha. That is awesome. I'll keep firing some information your way during the season. He won't know what's hit him! 😂

Hey @quillfire

I thought I would reignite our chat on Superbowl predictions. I hope you told your brother the prediction I gave you because it happened. I should have put some money on it!! 😁

Gaz

Congratulations @cheese4ead! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Rally Upvote Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

Thank you very much @steemitbloggers

Very much appreciated.

Gaz

Wow from NFL to 1st division English football to Hungarian football and the. Romanian. You are quite the sports fan. And you are not following the big guys either. Sign of a good fan! I’d love to get into NFL . The tactics look interesting and I like the idea of the draft. #steemitbloggers

Hey @blanchy

Thanks for your nice comments. I guess it is a wide rage of levels. My first love has always been Bristol Rovers ever since I was a boy but I am passionate about the other teams too, especially the Packers.

American Football is a wonderful sport and I absolutely recommend it to any sports fan, at least, as an alternative to their other sports. It is like a game of chess on a field plus it is fast, skillful and very physical. The rules are complex to start with but it doesn't take long to understand the basics enough to enjoy it.

The draft is a pretty unique thing with a great foundation in it's philosophy, the worst teams get the best players in the next year. It is quite something when your team finds a gem from lower down the draft rounds that becomes a star.

I would be more than happy to take you through the basics of the game to get you started.

What teams/sports do you follow?

Thanks for commenting.

Gaz

Massive Tottenham fan. I do a last man standing competition on here also . I will let you know when it starts again . Into golf as well and the lesser known sport of hurling . You should do a blog explaining the rules of NFL. That’s a post I would love to read.

Spurs eh! A couple of the lads that I worked with here in Bucharest were Tottenham fans. I went to the pub to watch them a few times last year with them. Usually entertaining games as well. What do you think of your chances this season? No signings in preseason is unusual but rather refreshing. I guess the success of your lads in the world cup kind of did the job of raising the value of the squad. They clearly feel like they have everything in place.

An NFL tutorial for beginners sounds like a great idea. I'll get right on it.

We had a perfect 9 point start and bet man united 3-0 then handed the game to Watford last week. I think we will be top 4 but the squad is still too shallow to win it . With the new stadium coming in over budget we will do well to sign someone in January but we have a great manager so once he stays we are going to keep improving .

The stadium looks incredible. That will surely put you ahead of most of the competition once the finances settle. I was looking at a video of the flooring in the concourse made from parts of the old building. It's class touches like that that make the difference.

I don't really go out of my way to watch the Prem, unless a mate is interested, but the fact that Spurs are playing a high percentage of English players makes me want them to do well.

Bucharest for footbal.....salut

Posted using Partiko Android

Salut @steemflow Multsumesc!

Do you have links with Bucharest or the football teams?

Gaz

No no...i had few link thru official...Genpact

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, love the passion! I'm afraid I know nothing about football, but after reading your post... Wow, you are really into it!

I guess your right @bengy

I am into it but I never really look at it that way. I kind of see my sport as the norm but then get surprised at other peoples curiosity or interest in something they don't follow. Which is all good fun and I love spreading the word, anyway!

What would your sport of choice be then?

Gaz

To be honest, I don't really follow any particular sport at all. I'm just not really into it...

But I have spent hours watching snooker or lawn bowls or that crazy sport where they roll a stone on ice and then use broom sticks to affect the path! Can't remember what that was called (curling, I think!). Strange, but somehow mesmerising!

Curling! Cool. That's pretty popular in Scotland and other places. I only really see it in the winter Olympics but I do stop watch it. Good choice! 😁

I used to like sport when there were still heroes around, but these days all my heroes are old so I don't watch it much anymore

Hey @wales

I know what you mean. Players come and go these days but it's not quite the same as when I was younger Idolising the Bristol Rovers players. They all seem so young now!! There are still characters around and even a few heroes but not like the sport of old.

Who were your sporting heroes then @wales ?

Gaz

George Best, Steve Ovette, Sebastian Coe, Cassius Clay, Steve Davis, and many others

A classy list. Bryan Robson, Bernard Hinault and Nigel Mansell were some of my sporting heroes from the past.

you have wonderful passion my friend and i wish grow success in steemit my friend cheese4ead. #steemitbloggers

Thanks a lot for the kind words @ykdesign

Same for you too. Gaz

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Boy, I can tell you are a sports fan! Football is not my sport though. How about hockey? Or Soccer? Love the dedication! #steemitbloggers

Hey @cecicastor

Thanks for your comments.

'Soccer' is my first love closely followed by American Football. If you mean Ice Hockey then I don't really follow that closely although I did go to watch the Green Bay Gamblers once and enjoyed it. Any top class sport is usually worth a watch though.

Who are your teams?

Gaz

For soccer, I like to follow Brazil, Sweden, England, and Canada. hockey, well, I am a rink rat and I watched a lot of hockey, now that I am living in Central America, I don't follow as closely as I once did. Baseball I follow the Blue Jays because I used to live close to Toronto.

A nice selection. I went to an Baltimore Orioles game a few years ago. I think I could get into Baseball given the chance.

I'm English so England are kind of my burden unfortunately! They do OK sometimes.

Who is you hockey team?

Detroit Red Wings and the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Cool. I will look out for them and watch a game.

Romanian football madness ha, ha, always going on. Came across this post via #steemitbloggers 💕

Hey @starjewel

Thanks for commenting.

Yeah, the Romanian league has it's moments. There is usually something amusing going on. Do you follow a team?

Gaz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17