You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gory Fact: The Most Dangerous Sport

in #sport7 years ago

"safe or not safe" without numbers for injured or killed (also I, personally, I would count chronic diseases) participants just a words about nothing.

the truth is, everyone professional sportsmen has at least one chronic disease, so I'm considering every sport is dangerous if you seriously involved

Sort:  

What disease?
There is nothing written in this article about any disease...

do you feel it's not dangerous to get a disease as a result of being sportsmen? do you think it's not dangerous to be a disabled after 10-15 years in a big sport?

My teammate died in his 13 while training because his heart stopped. and it was swimming.

Ok, I'm sorry to hear about your teammate but I still don't understand your point.

My point is I use different metrics for defining dangerous

Say, if while Kite festival with 1 million participants 10 thousand (for example) become injured than means probability to be injured or killed "only" 1%

From my own experience - I was kitesurfer 5 years - there are 20-30% kitesurfers become injured, what means a probability to be injured around 20-30%

But when I look on professional sportsmen and everyone at least once has been injured and everyone developed chronic diseases or disability while a sport career, that means probability to be injured and develop chronic disease equal 100% for professional sportsmen.

I measure not absolute quantity excedents in different sports and then compare them. For me it's about nothing without understanding how many people involved, but I always calculate percentage and probability for a risk to be injured

(My sport life: swimming (pro), mountaineering and rock climber (pro), skiing, paragliding, kitesurfing and mountain rescue professional ex team member. So, I'm really aware how dangerous one or another sport)

Not every kite flyer during this festival engages in this sport. Just small number of people. General injury and death toll is very high considering the number of participants and the fact that this sport is mostly performed only few days per year.
Kite surfing toll is very high too considering the number of people practicing it all over the world, all year round.

You are right about the percentages. The number of fyers engaging in this sport would need to be re-examined, and statistics made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51