Why I Am a Big Fan of Mr. Spock

in #spock7 years ago

First, I'm a fan of Star Trek. Hands down. It was one of the first space shows I ever got to watch when I was a young boy, as well it was one of the only shows that we would get on our limited TV antenna two-available-channel black-and-white television. I also remember it was on at a specific time, I think it was usually 2 pm on a Saturday or a Sunday. I always hated having to wait until the religious programming was finished to watch the shows I really wanted to see. Saturday morning cartoons were the best, but that's for another posting.

But I digress. I've always been a fan of space shows, again especially Star Trek, and especially because of characters like Mr. Spock. I recall one episode "The City on The Edge of Forever" where Captain Kirk had referred to Mr. Spock as being Chinese, and got his pointed ears because as a boy he got his head caught in a rice picker. Even prior to that though, I could identify with Spock because he looked different, and looked very much Asian, with the high pointy eye brows and standard Vulcan bowl cut.

SPOCK-3.jpg

I could also identify with Spock, because he had a life and a back story, unlike the actual Asian on the bridge, Lieutenant Sulu, who for all intents and purposes was the helmsman and we didn't know very much about who he was and how he got there. We eventually learned he had a first name, Hikaru, but really that was about it until the 2016 film edition where we got a glimpse into his life outside of Star Fleet. Yet with Spock, we met his parents ("Journey to Babel")

SPOCK-7.jpg

and we visited his home world where we even met his wife (that he since divorced through the Pon Farr in "Amok Time").

SPOCK-6.jpg

While Star Trek sought to be more inclusive, again adding lieutenant Uhura as the only black female on the bridge, even she did not have a strong back story. She was very good ethnicity filler though, and looked great in an official capacity as communications officer, again adding a splash of color in an otherwise white dominated bridge.

But back to Spock.

SPOCK-2.jpg

He is the closest to a fully rounded Asian looking character in that time of our TV history. But he was still an alien. An outsider. Someone that worked hard to fit in, and his struggle to do so eventually elevated his popularity above that of Shatner's Captain Kirk. He became a symbol in a way of the universal struggle to belong, and then finally got his due in the form of more fan mail than the dashing leading man.

I hope other shows now and in the future will give Asian characters a life and a back story with the depth that they have given with Spock.

Live Long and Prosper

SPOCK-5.jpg

Sort:  

Waoh! I watched this those days! I remember

Hi @hamzeto I'm glad I could provide a little walk down memory lane! Thankfully my wife allows and shares with me this one guilty pleasure of watching the old Star Trek series re-runs (I have the whole set on DVD). I've seen each episode at least 5 times (and possibly more). Spock has been and always will be my favorite character.

Thumbs Up 1.jpg

I wish my wife will do the same with me, but all this young ladies just want to watch soap operas and drama series,am glad u got a great lady by ur side too

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.09
ETH 3585.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.04