Splinterlands share your battle: MAGGOTS ๐Ÿ›๐Ÿ›๐Ÿ›

in #splinterlands โ€ข 5 years ago

Hi there!

So MAGGOTS: opportunity and scavenge. This is a quite common (recently released) combination of abilities: Maggots, Screeching Vulture, Feasting Seaweed, Parasitic Growth, Cave Slug are all similar cards, allowing also some nice combos ๐Ÿคฉ.

Opportunity

Best game modes in witch I like to using opportunity are:

  • Unprotected โžก๏ธ Hit directly to the weakest enemy health without wasting precious time.
  • Fog of war โžก๏ธ The only option to attack (hopefully surprisingly) backline monsters.

I like to pair them to some monster weakening back-line attackers (i.e. return fire or magic reflect). So the schema is: First weaken, then finish the weakest. In this optic a "Miss!!" may be fatal, so another secure game mode to playing this way is "Aim true".

Scavenge

I like playing it in low mana matches, where lot of low-mana-easy-to-kill guys are out. The king of this strategy is gelatinuos cube, a really strong card in my opinion (but weak to stun and affliction).

Ok now close the books ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“š, let'do some practice!!!

The match

Unfortunately today I couldn't play a low-mana "unprotected" game with maggots. But I have anyway an interesting one:

League: Gold II ๐Ÿ‘‘
Unprotected + Lost Legendaries
Mana cap: 37

ALL splinters available

I took a rapid look to my opponent (@trowa-barton)'s last battles and I saw a prevalence of hearth and dragon (+1 magic). Seen the high mana match I made my prediction: Delwyn dragonscale + hearth monsters.

For my lineup instead I decided to use Maggots supported by Gelatinous cube. With frontline monster I wanted to reflect magic attacks and then having some backline attackers. The only doubt was about the summoner: -1 to ranged (useful against hearth and with a not-shielded or void tank) or +1 to melee? I decided for +1 to melee, in support to my Maggots ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž So here we go:

YES! Enemy tactic guessed!

Round 1

I did not expect haunted spirit to die so fast, but no problem: he weakened back line monsters with magic reflect and now they are meal for my maggots!

Then the unexpect: my cube got stunned, bad things happening..

Round 2

As expectd, my stunned CUBE quickly died and maggots became my tank!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

Round 3

Maggots shown their power, resisting to attacks and keeping gaining health just enough to survive. Big thanks also to my back line attackers ;) ;)

The epilogue were benign: I took a victory โœŒ๏ธโœŒ๏ธ and a nice story to tell ๐Ÿ˜Š

Cheers! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

Sort: ย 

Congratulations @madgol! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


Congratulations @madgol!
You raised your level and are now a Red Fish!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This was a beautiful story. I'm quite amused by your "lunch" and "dinner" pic too.
๐Ÿฅฐ@carrieallen


Woohoo!

You have been manually curated by the @splinterlands / @steemmonsters team for the SHARE YOUR BATTLE WEEKLY CONTEST!

Thank you for SHARING your Splinterlands content with the world! The more the merrier!

Enjoy your juicy upvote and keep creating excellent Splinterlands content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68