Splinterlands | Buying & Opening 100+10 Packs - Results & Calculations!

in #splinterlands2 years ago

I ended up fomo-buying another batch of 100+10 Chaos Legion packs in Splinterlands with an eye on the airdrop as I did not have enough to at least guarantee a copy of the next Legendary Summoner card. These are the results


Pack Buying Airdrop Mechanics

I'm usually pretty immune to fomo-mechanics but the devs of Splinterlands really came up with a very smart system with the airdrops. This along with the DEC price still trading below peg and the increased Potion drops from rewards made me buy another 100+10 packs which now puts me at a total of 610 packs

The next airdrop is going to be for the Fire Summoner (which currently I see as one of the weakest teams if you don't have Yodin). Similar to many of the other new cards it just looks like one that is fun to play with and I hope it's at a price range somewhat similar to Rathe which is just about affordable for me to get.


110 Packs Opening Results

I bought at the point when DEC was going up looking like it was going to close the gap toward the peg. 0.74$ for 1000 DEC it was so I paid around 300$ including the 10 Vouchers needed. By now DEC dropped to 0.68$ for 1000 DEC so the discount has become bigger. It took some time to open the packs as I was waiting to earn more Potions but eventually I managed to unpack them all getting these cards as a result:

This batch of packs pretty much turned out as bad as it possibly gets. With a 1.6% chance (thanks to the potions) of a card being a legendary, 110 packs expect to get 8.8 Legenday cards while I only got 5. There also were no golden epics or Golden summoners which left me with an overall card value of only 151$ which brings a massive loss despite getting the DEC discount and using both Legendary and Alchemy potions on all packs.


Riftwatchers Pack plans


With the pre-sale starting next week for Riftwatcher packs and while I want to get into it, I will try to resist the temptation as the cost is just too high for me. 5$ in SPS which I expect to increase in value over time while providing some nice passive returns and utility, plus a voucher who are also becoming more expensive. Also looking how far 600+ packs got me toward my Chaos Legion set aiming to be competitive in Gold league it's just not far enough. At this point I see Splinterlands as a valid game you play for fun and sets you back a lot of money if you want to own your collection while you earn back some of what you invested along the way and are able to sell your cards possibly at a profit if you ever want to quit the game.


Conclusion

I have never been a fan of buying packs but the entire airdrop mechanic combined with the DEC discount and the potions got me to the point to buy into them. Even with all these discounts and perks, they are still kind of a losing short-term proposition unless you get really really lucky. from here on out I will just stick to getting cards directly from the market knowing what I get myself into.


Play2Earn Games I'm Playing...

Crypto & Blockchain-Based Bookies and Exchanges that I'm personally using as they allow anonymous betting with no KYC or personal restrictions...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68853.42
ETH 3708.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65