You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rituals: Clearing Your Home

in #spirituality8 years ago (edited)

The most popular herb for smudging in Siberia is probably thyme, another name for it in Russian is "Богородская трава" (bogorodskaya trava), which is something like "Godmother grass", probably alluding to Mary the mother of Christ, or something.
Thats what shamans use for cleansing, at least.

Sort:  

Actually, it would probably translate better into "born of/from God" or "God-born grass". That's cool, I wasn't aware that thyme was a popular one in Russia.

Thing is I am not sure what word do people in english use for Mary? In Russian it is Bogoroditsa (богородица), and she is kinda more popular than JC. Yeah, "godmother" is me kind of spazzing out on sleep dep and cold. Still probably has a better word for it. I think it is more about god birthing, not the other way around.

In Russia tyme is more widely known as chabrets (чабрец). And it is what Buryat shamans use.
Another pupular smudging herb is juniper, but I've never seen it used. Still there are more than 140 peoples living in Russia, I am sure that there are many variations between them.

haha yes, we do call Mother Mary Bogoroditsya which does mean Birther of God. I think in English it is just Mother Mary or the Virgin. English really emphasizes that she was a virgin while Russian emphasize that she gave birth to God (or rather the human incarnation of God).

I also use Nag Champa incense to clear, or Dragon's Blood incense depending on what I have or the power I need. Dragon's Blood is an amplifier of energy.

Yeah, I've just noticed that you are originally Russian after leaving those comments. So that 'we' is really 'we'. ;)
I really like the mix that I found when I visited Ivolga in Buryatiya. I'll have to check the name, but it is traditional Buryat/Buddhist incense mix, and it includes sagan dalya, larch, juniper, and some other stuff. I'll check and update the comment in the morning, it is getting rather late. Or more like early. 5 am.

ahaha I missed that too. Guess we really took to that whole foreign language thing :). I look forward to your update!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62419.28
ETH 2628.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56