You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I believe in holy things - Part 1: A visit to a Buddhist temple

in #spirituality6 years ago

I believe that we kind of charge things with meaning when we focus our attention on them and put our faith in them. And so a place can become holy simply because we deem it to be holy and put a lot of effort into making it holy, same with an object. I suppose the real purpose in doing so wouldn’t be to create a space that is more important than other spaces or an object more important than other objects, but to remind one of the holiness in all things, and in all places. This does not seem to be the same way most people look at these places and objects but through this I can Be reminded of my own faith in the faith of others who may believe in something very different from myself. I wonder if this is the way I play “capture the flag”.

Sort:  

Yes, I think it's one of many subtleties that sometimes get missed sometimes when spirituality is watered down and becomes strict religion.

Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92