The Law(Torah) was for the Jew's...

in #spirituality7 years ago

"The Law(Torah) was for the Jew's..."

This is a very common saying in mainstream Christianity. I heard it my entire life growing up in church anytime the subject of God's Law came up. And here's another:

“Our Messiah came to free us from the Law (Torah).”

The "Us" in this statement being Gentiles....

Soooo, our Messiah came to free us from a Law, that was never given to us to begin with.... Hmmm...

Does it pass the logic test, or should we reexamine our thinking....?

More questions, thoughts and in depth studies to come. I hope you stick around so that we can learn and grow together. I don't claim to know everything. I'm no scholar. I'm just a dude with a keyboard, a bible and some kids! So test everything I and anyone else says to scripture to see if it be so. Till next time...

Don't forget to Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you so please.

Sort:  

Agreed! Isn’t it funny how so many today just believe whatever they are told?

For sure... Hopefully these posts can help those to question what we've always been told...

Absolutely. These are wonderful questions to ask and ones that were put to me about 2 1/2 years ago. Since then I have done a great deal of personal research and study into the same questions that have been posed by videos such as The Way and by others:

If Jesus is our Lord and Savior, our one perfect example of how to walk the ways of God in this world, and He followed the Written Torah, observed the Sabbath, kept the Feasts, and observed the dietary laws...why aren't we, the grafted in to the tree of Israel?

Did Paul really preach against Gentiles observing the Written Torah?

Why did Peter in 2 Peter 3 warn against misinterpreting Paul's writings and being lead astray into the error of lawlessness?

Why did God spend more than 2/3's of Scripture pleading for Israel just to trust in Him and keep His commandments, only to supposedly do away with them, not with Jesus, but with Paul?

And there are many more. Since I started this journey I have finished a Bachelor of Science in Scripture and Theology and am getting ready to start my Masters in Apologetics. I, and many others, are on the same trail, thatdude. I pray that God continues to fill us with His Spirit and an earnest desire to seek His face, to search for the truth in all things, and that, if needed, gives us the courage to change.

Shalom,
Todd

The questions that I have and will continue to pose along with the ones you have posed in your response are questions that I hope to get others to ponder on and seek out. Some of which are questions that I've had since I was a young child growing up in church. Questions that don't need to be stifled, as they frequently are, but sought out with an open heart and a humbleness to change if it so requires. It's good to hear that you have continued in your study for understanding, knowledge and wisdom as many give up all too soon. I pray that you continue to do so..

"My son, if thou wilt receive my words, and hide my commandments with thee; so that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding; yea, if thou criest after knowledge and liftest up thy voice for understanding; if thou seekest her as silver, and searchest for her as for hid treasures; then shalt thou understand the fear of YHVH, and find the knowledge of Elohim."

Keep in touch.. Hope to hear from you again...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.77
ETH 2736.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60