I am Nooksack and Jewish, my spirit longs for teachings I may never receive.

in #spirituality7 years ago

I was invited to Inipi at Sacred Stone Camp, I am not Lakota, I did not go.

I learned small kind Lakota teachings, because a Lakota woman warrior asked me to organize prayer walks, but I know my ancestral teachings are Hebrew and Nooksack, and that Nooksack people largely converted to shakerism in the late 20's.

My heart cries for the teachings of my ancestors, because of my Hebrew lineage I may never be accepted by my Nooksack tribe in a spiritual way.

I am spiritually adrift, I believe many rainbows are.

I have enough empathy to walk away from teachings which are not mine, I will not go into inipi or go to sundance, as much as it hurts my heart to turn down invitations to ceremony, and as much as it may be seen as disrespectful by those who offer, I am not any part Lakota, Dakota, Nakota, I want my ancestral ways, no other.

Sort:  

Spiritual teachings can be obtain through many forms, mentorship is only one of them.

"When asked what my religion is, I answer: Every path that leads me to the light".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65551.56
ETH 2659.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89