You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Next Big Thing is You

in #spirituality6 years ago

Great write up. I have never read Goddard, but have been exploring really similar ideas from other authors and I have been apart of a group that practices inner healing prayer. I just wrote a post sharing some of my experience in that. The basic idea is that our imagination can be more than simply our thoughts given shape, but that we can communicate with God in that space. Receiving and giving in imagination. What is fascinating to me has been learning that this is not even a new idea in Christianity (which is what I practice). St. Ignatius developed a rich set of prayers around this idea. The Dessert Fathers as well as other Christian Mystics practiced this. And many scholars read the Old Testament prophets as doing this exact thing.

Personally, I think there is a delineation between our imagination and God, but the two can meet and interact.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Sort:  

Really cool, I checked out your post and put your vote there ;)

Interesting about communicating with God through imagination, imagination is such an unknown faculty, like where are the imaginings coming from? It's hard to see or notice

I personally believe that imagination is one of the faculties of God, ad since we are created in his image it is our faculty as well. I will be testing out the waters here using imagination to try to create as God creates. I think once we reach realization or awaken this become exponentially easier, so that is my overriding aspiration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65