My father lives on in my son

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20190320 at 17.27.32.png

17 years ago today Harry Solomon Stonehill moved on from his body, tired of fighting.

Esteban Harry Stonehill was born 4 years ago and even when he was a baby people would tell me all the time they could see a resemblance. Personally I struggle to see this but what I do see in Esteban are moments of behaviour and mannerisms which remind me of him and like a bright sunbeam flashing in my eyes I am instantly warmed by these moments.

My father was lucky to make it to the age of 84. If he hadn't had his heart attack in an airport (where the paramedics were able to reach him quickly) he would have checked out 15 years earlier. Conscious of this, I made the most of those last 15 years as best I could.

For those of you who haven't already heard his story:

He built an empire in the Philippines in the 1950s after being posted there as a GI in the 2nd WW. He created 17 corporations with the intention of re-building a broken country and ultimately became one of the most powerful men there. But as we all know with great power comes great responsibility and as the first person to grow tobacco in the Philippines he challenged the existing status quo of US tobacco exports and found himself in a position where he was being asked by the US government to help them out with certain political favours. He refused and in doing so he sealed his fate.

IMG_1629.jpg

I am grateful they didn't just assassinate him as is often the way in these situations. Instead the US were able to manipulate his deportation and confiscation of assets worldwide. They ostracised him and made sure he was never able to return to the Philippines, tying him up in court cases which lasted almost forty years, ultimately costing him every penny he had.

The following words are taken from the preface of his unpublished autobiography:

"Ever since my parents brain washed me into believing America was a magnificent nation, completely altruistic and sincerely devoted to helping under privileged peoples, even to its own detriment, I had believed it with all my heart until I saw what they could do to one of its citizens if that person did not bend to its powerful bureaucracy or political dictates.
In relating the sincerity of myself towards the self improvement of this impoverished, under developed Philippines and then finding I was fighting a group in Washington dedicated only to American self interests shocked me and destroyed my naive desires.
This is a story about the good guys and the bad guys. Generally the good guys win the battles against the evils of the world and the bad guys end up paying for the consequences of their actions in many different ways.
I am of the opinion a great injustice has been done and I believe in this instance, the good guys have committed continuous criminal acts in collaboration with the U.S. Federal Judiciary, the U.S. State Department, FBI, CIA and Department of Justice. And in doing so have reversed their roles with the bad guys."

Harry Stonehill.jpg

If you feel like reading more about him you can find an article here, written on the 100th anniversary of his birth.

When Esteban saw the image at the top of this post he asked who it was next to him.

I explained and his next question was "where is he?"

I told him he was dead and Esteban looked at me for a moment contemplating my answer before exclaiming bluntly, "No Sam, people never die".

How right he is.

474A3549.jpg

Eating vegan cake on his first birthday in Bali, enhancing those higher level chakras with a purple bindi.

Love & Light everyone 🙏🏻

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

old banner.jpg

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

Sam is the creator of:

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Everything is okay! 👌


You received an automatic vote, because I believe in you and I love what you create! ;)

A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

I love promoting !sbi status

Hi @amico!

  • you have 160 units and 685 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 1719360295865 or 1.182 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.236 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 8.80 % has come from your subscription level
  • 83.75 % has come from your bonus units
  • 6.90 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.54 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Value % breakdowns are in beta and some oddities may appear. These % are historical and represent source of vote value pending and already delivered. Recent changes (increase in delegated SP, for example) may take time to noticeably change the % breakdown.

It's definitely possible for grandparents to incarnate as children ;)

The possibility brings tears to my eyes. It is a very beautiful thought :)

@samstonehill I feel you are so correct as our ancestors live on... even our children. How lucky you are to know your amazing history- I always love your stories... have an amazing day❤️❤️❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have an amazing day too :)

And thank you for your lovely words.

Great post, thanks for sharing. I also read the original story you wrote 2 years ago. Cheers!

Has it really been two years already? Time really does fly!

Thank you for following this story :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66