The Art of Meditation - Can Computer Programs Meditate?

                              

This is an absolutely bizarre question, I know lol But it actually came up in a mediation group that I attended. The question that was posed was along the lines of, “Can artificial intelligence become so humanlike and sophisticated that the program begins to practice mindfulness like we do as humans?” The Guru of the class responded, “I don’t know. But maybe the REAL question is: are WE already programs or a dream of someone?” Hashtag mind blown lol  

Well, it looks like an artist by the name of Eric Valosin is one step closer to cracking the code on this phenomenon. Eric and his most recent exhibit called “For (Loop) {Meditations;}" were featured in the Oxford Eagle online publication. Andy Belt’s article did an amazing job in persuading me to believe that computer programs might actually more humanlike than we may think. But then again, now that I think about it, humans do make the programs right? So, naturally one would think the program would mimic certain human behavior? *Kanye shrug*

Essentially Eric has some pretty neat beads that, when pressed, illuminate the room and the viewers are immersed in the pixels of the image.  

Here’s a quote from Eric further explaining the concept:

“I started to think about how in various traditions, rosary included, when your prayer beads, you’re iterating through a prayer,” Valosin said. “From bead to bead, with each one you say a prayer. That’s exactly how a computer views an image. I started thinking of the computer function as the form loop function, which is how a computer would view an image. Essentially, it’s meditating.” The artist called this “an interesting way to explore the iterative nature of spirituality and of technology and allow you to have an immersive experience of a digital image.”

I don’t know about you but I find this to be hella neat. Maybe Eric can create and NPM or Node.JS program called “meditate.js” LOL And When he, or someone else does, you can say you heard it here first folks ;)  

We got this, one Steem post, up vote, and re-steem at a time. Drop your Steem it info below in a comment, tell me what content you would like to see, and let’s connect! 

Sort:  

#life
Maya Angelou : You will face many defeats in life, but never let yourself be defeated.

So true, I love mama 'Lou :) Thanks for sharing!

I like you , i like this blog...
This post is soo deep...

I need google translator for my ,bla,bla,bla...
So i shared my conclusion...

Do you know what it is a simulution?
Everythings is a probability....

there are no differences ...

I do not look for what I lack, I look for that I have left over .....

It is the game of detachment...

Love my dear sister

I appreciate you! Thanks for always supporting my content.

Congratulations @nocodinggenius! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49