Who Am I? (After all, does anybody know who they are)

in #spirituality8 years ago (edited)

Supertramp - The Logical Song

When I was young, it seemed that life was so wonderful, a miracle, it was beautiful, magical
And all the birds in the trees, well they'd be singing so happily, joyfully, playfully, watching me
But then they send me away to teach me how to be sensible, logical, responsible, practical
And they showed me a world where I could be so dependable, clinical, intellectual, cynical
There are times when all the world's asleep
The questions run too deep for such a simple man
Won't you please, please tell me what we've learned
I know it sounds absurd but please tell me who I am
I said now, watch what you say, now we're calling you a radical, a liberal, fanatical, criminal
Won't you sign up your name, we'd like to feel you're acceptable, respectable, presentable, a vegetable
But at night, when all the world's asleep
The questions run so deep for such a simple man
Won't you please (Won't you tell me), (You can tell me what) please tell me what we've learned (Can you hear me?)
I know it sounds absurd, (Won't you help me) please tell me who I am, who I am, who I am, who I am
But I'm thinking so logical 

I have always loved that song by Supertramp and never took the time to really hear and understand the lyrics until now...

Who am I ?

I knew the answer to that question once upon a time, back when the world was a magical place of colour, sound and smells. When the beauty of nature and the touch of a cool gentle breeze were enough to lose yourself in a moment of wondrous imagination. It was a time of fun and adventure with friends and family, I was a superhero and I WAS INVINCIBLE!

Nothing else in life mattered as my dreams, ambitions and life where firmly fixed on my present adventure. The only future I cared about was my next amazing journey, and I never usually had to wait too long for that. The Past? the past was forgotten faster than a blink of an eye. HELL, there was no past! I was only 6 years old!

The way I see it, when you are a child you are on your own path of self discovery and enlightenment. You are free to build your own references and the life you build for yourself is usually magical. You easily make friends and forgive your foes just as easily. I see it all the time with my children, their worst enemy can be their best friend a few weeks later. All that matters to a child is the present life it is living.

As we get older something fundamentally changes, our paths are blocked. First by our parents who want nothing more than our best by presenting us with their worst fears. 'Don't climb that tree or you'll fall' or 'Stay where I can see you or someone will steal you and I'll never see you again'. This is then intensified once the child is in school. The child learns obedience and submissiveness to authority. The public 'fool' system does a great job teaching the child what to believe, how to believe it and most importantly not to ask questions. (More details on all this in a later blog perhaps) but what does this all do to the child? Slowly that path of enlightenment it once travelled gets diverted to the highway of mainstream fear, obedience and acceptance. 

So... who am I? I really don't know anymore... Does anyone know who they really are? One thing is sure... I'm trying to find out!

If you enjoyed this post please follow and upvote :)

Do you have a mortgage you are struggling to pay? (or you down right refuse to pay), if so, you may want to read my previous post Evil Bankers / How to Avoid Paying Fraudulent Bank Debt


Sort:  

I heard that song hundreds​ of times listening to the radio on a tractor. It still brings back the diesel smoke and dust memories. Like you, still a work in progress. Good luck.

Cheers.

Thanks Matey, may your personal journey bring you love, light and abundance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44