You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I believe in holy things - Part 1: A visit to a Buddhist temple

Beautiful post, Kurt. I'm kind of enthralled with this concept of "believing in holy things", and the way it is expressed--not "I believe that x is holy", but just believing that holy things exist. I think I do believe in holy things. Thank you.

Sort:  

My pleasure Starr Maybe after some consideration you can tell us what the phrase might mean to you.

I really like the other world analogy your friend made. (Or maybe it wasn't an analogy, but a matter of belief.) I think things can become holy when they have been imbued with residual energy from loving human attention or intention. It may also help to be ancient or awe-inspiring in some way. But perhaps some things are just naturally holy without or before having been attended to. Like the moon, or a rock formation. When ancient people worshipped the moon, did they make it holy by worshipping it, or was their worship in response to the holiness it already possessed?

I think that to "believe in holy things" is to be open to those energies, and perhaps to be able to feel a connectedness with--maybe not the object itself, but the human attention that went into making a thing holy, or the cosmic confluence that produced a thing. It is to stand in the significance of the universe and to swim in the wonder of it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92