Sidewalk Tarot

in #spirituality6 years ago

march2018 128.jpg

My dream teacher, Robert Moss, coined the phrase sidewalk tarot. Essentially, this is the practice of approaching your waking life in a similar way you would interact with your night dreams. For example, if I am walking into a grocery store and am considering what I am going to do about a situation at home, I might listen for the first conversation I hear entering the store to shed light on my question or the bumper sticker or license plate that grabs my attention in the parking lot may offer incredible guidance.

march2018 132.jpg

Carl Jung was obviously also very into dreams and symbols and it really is amazing how often the symbols in waking-life are as magical as the ones in our dreams if we only learn to pay attention. I am often astounded that my mind can come up with so many layered meanings in a single dream image. Perhaps, more amazing is that this ability can be grown in your walking life if you shift your perception a bit. For me, it is like those magic eye books and how difficult it can be to see the hidden image at first, but when the picture comes into focus we are astounded! It has been sitting there the entire time!

As both a creative venture that delights my inner-child and a fun way to spark community dreaming and magic making, I have started to paint rocks and leave them along the Astoria Riverwalk or downtown for pedestrians to discover. Yes, there are others painting rocks that promote their FB page, etcetera, but I am writing only messages on mine trusting the right people will find them at the right time.

Really, this practice is a lot of FUN!

march2018 131.jpg

Sort:  

We grow so used to our everyday environment and see it as being ordinary ~ So it requires a new way of seeing for us to see the extraordinary in the ordinary.

Love the little surprises you are leaving for others to find.

The World Kindness Movement have little cards that you can leave for people to find. There are so many ways that we can brighten and lighten our world. 🦋

Such a great idea 🌟 I love the community and mystery aspect of your messages on stones..

I love analysing dreams but I never really thought about using with intention waking life as symbols. I do get insights and realisations (as spirit animals, repeating numbers etc.) but it's always been a surprise. I love the idea of making a practice out of this fun exercise :)

Thank you, Allailen!
Yes, and making it a regular practice increases the synchronicities!
Welcome to steemit!

Yes! It attracts more of the similar 💓 Beautiful :) And thank you!

I love exploring synchronicity!

Truly a good way to navigate life and a way to lead ourselves rather than being led by others' agenda's.

As one who loves "signs," I love this idea. You have me thinking of doing this in Portland...very inspiring! Perhaps I'll find one of yours on my next adventure to Astoria...♥

LOVE that you will spread the joy in Portland! Perhaps, I'll pick up one of yours in PDX?
I placed a few on the Riverwalk while rollerblading and found they were already gone by the time I made it up and back! People seem to keep them which makes me think they are interpreting them as messages specific to them, just like I believe :)

I'm not surprised people keep them...they're beautiful and such a wonderful gift...♥ Thank you for doing what you do...UPlifting humanity in these crazy times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38