You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To almost die is to live.

in #spirituality6 years ago

Though I saw the Matrix, it's been many years and details elude me. However, I do agree that many would prefer to substitute the movie with the real adventure and that w/o outer awards or fanfare for having completed such journey's, many young people don't see the value in the hardship. At the same time, many adults don't push their children towards these kinds of experiences either. I love that you saw that glow in your son after his scouting adventure!
Great wrap-up points that those who've experienced the life-changing are at greater capacity to love and be loved, to have greater empathy and fortitude.
We are a society starved of ritual, or as you've mentioned the rituals are watched safely on a screen. Your article makes me want to get out and experience a challenging outdoor adventure!

Sort:  

Dear Kimberly,
thank you for giving your impression. I think it was a good decision to apply for the Boy Scouts four years ago. My son participated in already three journeys abroad and every time he came back a little changed. To walk with heavy backpacks is often no fun. He was so proud having faced the challenges. First thing he said when I picked him up from the bus station, was: "I need a bigger back pack next time". :)

As for us who became mothers (you in particular) we went through the process of pregnancy and birth which is in itself a challenge and life altering experience. Though it also can lack meaning if it's not supported by the group.

Do you have own experiences like hiking or river rafting or any of that kind?
yours E.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63