You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steps of Healing #3: Fireside with You

in #spirituality6 years ago

The darkness was only night, not something to fear.

Love this part especially. Mistaking something innocuous for something scary is far too common an experience. I think it's just because we're so used to being right / certain that it's hard for us to doubt our conclusions.

Just yesterday I was sharing a story with someone I'm seeing. It was a hard story to share, and was made even harder by the fact that I noticed she hung up right after I told her the hard part. I was so certain I messed things up with her until I called her back and realized the call dropped on it's own before I even got to the hard part, and when I told her the story all the way through she was totally unfazed and supportive.

Always love your sharing and the ideas it sparks in me. Keep it up!

Sort:  

OMG!

I noticed she hung up right after I told her the hard part.

I would have shit myself and I can totally empathize with that feeling. So glad to hear that it was just a technical difficulty and that you were able to work up the courage to share, again!

Thanks for encouragement, brother. I think you're right that it is difficult to doubt our conclusions and a place of incessant doubt can be a burden too. Finding the balance of trustful skepticism is a journey.

I think you're right that it is difficult to doubt our conclusions and a place of incessant doubt can be a burden too. Finding the balance of trustful skepticism is a journey.

This is why I love when I'm comfortable enough to say "I don't know." It such an empowering statement when you use it right, because it keeps you from building your future on false certainty. But you're right it is a balance. I think we just have to do the best we can with the information we do have and trust that any outcome that comes our way is for the best.

Yes! Being able to say "I don't know" is something I really struggle with. Growing up, it was not a welcomed answered, so I learned to just say something. And in my job, saying "I don't know" is so uncommon that if you say it you get a major side-eye.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58773.92
ETH 2988.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74