Symbolizing and Harnessing the Energy and Shift Represented by the Winter Solstice

in #spirituality7 years ago (edited)

Happy Solstice everyone!!! Here in the northern hemisphere, today is the winter solstice, the day with the least amount of daylight of the year. Are there creative powers in the energy of the universe, and do they have the potential to be more active on the solstice based on the placement of the sun? What do you think?

I think yes. The sun is our principal, natural source of light here on earth. We are lightened and darkened based on the earth’s rotation, giving more or less chance for the sun’s energy to enter. Today the least amount of the sun’s energy is entering my space, which also means tomorrow there is a shift in the opposite direction—more and more light will enter until the next solstice. Not to mention, the night offers its own unique energy, and there is lots of night to be had today.

The solstice isn’t just symbolic of a change in energy, it is a change in energy, and I fully intend to harness not only what today offers, but what this shift represents in my life. Lots of great things are coming, and for that, this day is a call for celebration.

And as a tribute, I wrote this poem. I wrote it on my feet because they are a symbol of movement for me, a way to take charge and harness the shift.

lullaby for the long night.jpg

Lullaby for the Long Night

Tell me about what night is like.
Does the darkness sing to you
like a starling sings to the winter
sky with its wings
like it does to me?


xoxo. Enjoy the energy and power that the day may bring you.

Sort:  

The sun only gives, because that's all that it knows how to do and all that it does, being the supreme masculine principle.

The earth accepts the gift of light and energy with open arms, nurtures it and shapes it into the most beautiful and perfect manifestation within her power, as this all she knows how to do or is capable of doing, being the supreme feminine principle.

Together they harmonize into the music and dance of life, diversity of experience and freewill to choose one of nearly infinite paths, to any ending that it desires.

A most wonderful performance does life play on this stage we call the "universe". Although sometimes tragic and other times even horrific, at the end of the day, when we wake up, it comes to the same. We are infinite and in every way limitless and, given that this is the reality of who we are, it would be foolish to deprive ourselves of every experience under the sun.

So enjoy :)

Thank you for your lovely interpretation of all of these cosmic things. I love it, and am certainly enjoying! I hope you do as well!

xoxo. Enjoy the energy and power that the day may bring you.

Back at you :)

I didn't know JamesBrown was so spiritually profound.....<3

Oh, this is good news! These early nights are really starting to get to me.

It is good news! I love night, don't get me wrong, but long days with lots of light are essential!

I've thought about moving close to the equator to minimize the routine-mangling effects of seasonal change. I thought maybe that was crazy but then I read something from a Steemian about moving to Medellin, Columbia for precisely this reason. I don't think I can talk The Wife into that move, though!

It must be better in Mexico, right? Our New England sunset today was at 4:15 PM. What time does it get dark where you are?

The winter solstice is a reminder for me that life is balanced, even when it doesn't seem like it. Even at its darkest things do get brighter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58