Spira Study #2: Rewiring the body

in #spirituality7 years ago

We're back for round two with Rupert Spira!

In the video below, Spira talks about exploring the body as sensation rather than an object. In my experience this has been a huge part of my practice. I've been slowly removing tension that has built up over my life and lately I've been feeling much better, not as heavy or weighed down mentally, emotionally, and physically.

He talks about the rewiring of the body to the point where it feels open and transparent. We are working through tensions by allowing them to "soak" in awareness. We give our open attention to the body, try to find the borders of sensation, see that there is no true border that represents the body.

Towards the end he talks about how this is an experiential thing, we can't read about it, we need to explore it ourselves. And we need to keep coming back to it, I've spent years doing different things to release tension. Slowly the density of the body is released. We start to see that maybe we aren't the body, maybe we are awareness, maybe we aren't definable.

Working through these tensions can happen in a number of ways. I personally like to do a variety of exercises: foam rolling, foot accupressure, self massage, engaged stretching and yoga, running, and attempting to find posture that is "easy." These are just a few, explore anything that works for you, explore your body and find those tensions and watch them.

It was kind of funny, I stumbled across this video the day after writing an article about mindfulness meditation. That's how my journey has gone, I come across information, books, people, experiences, and videos that help me to kepp releasing all of my mental, emotional, and physical tensions. It's funny how that works sometimes, life gives us what we need to see in the moment, we just need to listen.

Let me know what you think of the video! If you liked this content and want to see more be sure to follow me, @jakeybrown.

Sort:  

I think any practice that helps awareness reflect upon itself, will always bring about a truly remarkable opportunity for peace to flourish. Even in the midst of turmoil.
The power and simplicity of clear seeing is just so easily over-looked by a chattering mental process, but even this is part of the show! Thanks for sharing this.

Amazing post, @jakeybrown! Will watch the video today. The way our physical body can mirror our internal experiences and vice versa is astounding and working with one with the conscious intention of influencing the other can be powerful. And then to circle round to the realization that they are the same thing and the separation is an illusion...

haha, amazing comment @kittyandcheese, let me know what you think of the video! The illusion is strong sometimes

Watched and enjoyed. He seems very gentle. His comments about being scared as a child acting like physical trauma on the body are poignant. Thanks for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54