My Influences: Yoga, Movement, Meditation, and More

in #spirituality6 years ago

As per requested by @kittyandcheese, I thought I'd give a bit of background on the people and things that have influenced my spiritual practice and lifestyle! @kittyandcheese requested yoga influences, but I thought I'd expand and list my influences for a few other topics. I see spirituality as all encompassing, so even things that may seem unrelated, like exercise or nutrition, have helped me on my path.

david-cohen-142755.jpg

Photo by David Cohen on Unsplash


Entheogens

“Psychedelics are illegal not because a loving government is concerned that you may jump out of a third story window. Psychedelics are illegal because they dissolve opinion structures and culturally laid down models of behaviour and information processing. They open you up to the possibility that everything you know is wrong.”
― Terence McKenna

For some of you this topic may be controversial, for others it might be the strongest influence because of the direct experience involved with the consumption of entheogens. I believe entheogens, when properly taken, are one the strongest catalysts for a spiritual renaissance that we can find. They seem to be helpful in temporarily clearing away depressed and apathetic states, and bring us closer to unity.

This is where I got my start spiritually, my first experience with pscilocybin made me completely question everything that I assumed was true about how the world worked. Subsequent trips furthered that and left me searching. I started researching everything I thought might lead to answers - ancient civilizations, neuroscience, entheogen use, shamans, religion, the occult, and magic. Eventually it lead me to non-dual teachings which is where I stopped because I believe they are the fastest way to enlightenment.

There are countless ways of describing states similar to those found when using entheogens: flow, unity, ecstasis, etc. all of which can pop up in books seemingly unrelated to both entheogens and spirituality There are some major correlations with entheogen use and spirituality, I feel like they show us the potential of our consciousness, and it is up to us to raise ourselves up and meet it following the experience.

Plant Medicine I've tried:

  • Psilocybin mushrooms
  • Huachuma
  • Vilca
  • Salvia
  • Cannabis

Non-Duality

“All that is necessary to awaken to yourself as the radiant emptiness of spirit is to stop seeking something more or better or different, and to turn your attention inward to the awake silence that you are.”
― Adyashanti

peter-hershey-113988.jpg

Photo by Peter Hershey on Unsplash

Non-duality put a stop to the seeking of information. Once I started reading and listening to some of the teachers I felt like all that I needed to do was apply their teachings. So I immersed myself in the material, getting to a point where the concepts of the teaching were clear and learning how to investigate my own experience. I feel that each teacher has their own way of pointing to the same thing, so i have read quite a few different books and implemented a variety of meditations into my daily life.

To me, the teachings here are just distilled/contemporary wisdom from other spiritual practices like Zen, Taoism, and Buddhism. Here are some of my influences:

  • Adyashanti
  • Mooji
  • Jean Klein
  • Rupert Spira
  • Francis Lucille
  • Alan Watts

Yoga

henrique-junior-355383.jpg

Photo by Henrique Junior on Unsplash

I didn't get into yoga until after I had glimpsed awakening. Once I did though, I found it to be an extremely useful tool in resolving mental and physical tension and clearing up my view of the world. My influences vary, the earliest I tried a yoga program was with p90X about 6 years ago, but I've also taken local classes, watched videos on youtube, like yoga with Adrienne, and explored on my own.

The most value I get is from a personal practice, just doing anything that feels helpful on my mat. I draw from other excellent movement practices as well, things like bodyweight exercises, myofascial release techniques, postural adjustments, and acupressure. I think we can get the same benefits of a traditional yoga practice doing other activities like dance and running.

I also took a lot of influence from the concept of re-tensioning muscle. The work of both Bob Cooley and Functional Patterns have influenced me, but I really think the concepts they promote are enough. I bought the 10-week course from functional patterns which I think could help most people looking to get healthy again. I have a post in the works that will talk about how I implement their ideas when practicing yoga.

Miscellaneous Books

cesar-viteri-426877.jpg

Photo by César Viteri on Unsplash

Before I found non-dual teachings I was reading a bunch of other stuff. Books on "New Thought," the occult, neuroscience, magic, and more. Most every book I read on these odd topics seemed to have some truth in them, but nothing was as straightforward and easy to use. Here are a few books that I still find useful:


I Hope you all enjoyed reading about some of the influences I've had to bring me to where I am now. Maybe they can help you understand a bit more about my background.

What other kinds of posts would you guys like to see?


If there are any particular topics you want to see from me, let me know! Otherwise, do a post on something you find interesting and I'll stop by and check it out! Here is my current "to-write" list:

  • Learning to Die in Peru - Parts 2&3
  • My family - Mila & Karen
  • Psychadelic Use, Pros and Cons
  • Running Mechanics
  • Re-Tensioning The Human Musculature
  • Some kind of contest
Sort:  

Yay, @jakeybrown! Thanks for writing this. It is great to read. Most of your influences are completely new to me, so I've got some reading to do. Thanks!

P90X - yes. I did that too. Kicked my butt, but I was finally able to do a few chin ups. I don't think yoga was Tony's strong point, though. : )

Never connected altered consciousness through medicinal plants with yogic mental states before. Something to think about there too.

I am very interested in what you write about muscle release and adjustment. I struggle with some chronic issues like plantar fasciitis, tight calves, sore knees and wrists that have hung around for years despite careful treatment. I had to give up running and it has taken me a long time to find a fitness groove again. Your simple tennis ball tip was revolutionary for me.

Thanks again for sharing and I will do the same soon.

The yoga in P90X was surprisingly good haha!

Yeah, I never would have thought to connect them either, I had looked into all sorts of stuff before I stumbled along something about non-duality. Probably Taoism came first for me. The most similarities I've found are from psilocybin, it always seems like it scrubs me clean, temporarily erasing the ego and "freeing" me up, incredible physical healing on a couple of occasions which greatly influenced the way I release muscle tension now. Reading "Be Here Now" by Ram Dass, he talks about giving his guru LSD, and way too much at that. The guru didn't even react, he just smiled for a while, kinda messing with Ram Dass. At some point he said something along the lines of - it can be useful. I think I remember reading that it could more about how it can show potential for our consciousness, but that we can do it without, so after my trip I was like "I need to figure out how to get here without substances" and that's what I've been up to for three years haha.

I'll get that post out ASAP! It's something that has been hugely beneficial, because results come for me way faster than traditional stretching or foam rolling

Appreciate the openness here! Can't say I've tried much in the way of plant medicine but you have me intrigued. As for meditation, I've been meaning to give this a try in earnest though haven't been able to find the time (perhaps a clear sign that I need meditation haha). Have you used any apps for mediation too or just books for technique?

I try to be forthcoming haha. Plant medicine knocked me out of a funk I was in, I personally think it is worthwhile to look into, and if it sounds good to try it where legal. There are studies on MDMA and psilocybin that show it is helpful in some cases to alleviate depression and I've found it to consistently connect me to myself and the world. A lot of the results are based on how seriously you take it though.

As far as meditation, I don't use apps or videos in general, that doesn't mean they aren't good though. I've heard some people like them and find them useful. I've listened to some by adyashanti and thought they were good, plus free on youtube, so maybe start there. A simple meditation that he promotes that you can do anywhere(perfect if you're busy, I try at work or out on the town) is to let everything be as it is, basically to not push any judgements or focus on certain parts or be stuck in thought or believe things blindly. Check out one of his videos, I find the books, in general, are more helpful to understand the concepts that help us let go. Rupert Spira's the Transparency of Things is my favorite book to read before I meditate.

Thanks for sharing that @jakeybrown.

I, too, believe in many of the teachings of those mentioned. Alan Watts is a favorite of mine. His stuff is top notch although, like you said, most of it is the same stuff, just stated differently. In the end, find someone you can connect with...that is the teacher you need.

The best teachers simply allow us to uncover what is already there. We have the answers within us..consciousness is throughout the universe and we are always connected (even when we do not realize it).

In the end, the simplest of practices, letting go, is the key. Just let go...

Glad you enjoyed it, Alan Watts is the man! He always has a clear way of putting things. And you're right, simple is better, when I first started out I just couldn't let go for some reason, so getting to the point where thought can't go past has helped me start to let go and relax.

In the end, the simplest of practices, letting go, is the key. Just let go...


Thanks for the quality comment, cool to see you're familiar with some of my blog topics :)

Oh this is really good stuff! I have personally only started to scratch the surface on spirituality and self exploration but this will help me further my study. I love meditation and yoga because focusing within self has helped me to get to know myself so much better than I ever thought I could. Thanks so much! ~Ivy~

Thanks :)

Definitely check out some of those authors, I've got some articles on books I've used if you look on my blog. Looking within is a practice that hasn't stopped being rewarding for me

Man, three posts in a day, you’re busy

Ya, thought I'd churn some out

Hey jake, missed this one, seems we have simialet Teachers. Loved Jean Klein's "I AM" one of my all time faves. Loving your journey.

No worries, I feel like I follow too many people so miss some things, some people spam resteems which I'm not a fan of because it drowns out the people I actually really like to follow.

I AM is the best! Well, maybe not the best, but I read through twice and still reference it, a classic in spirituality.

Interesting read Exciting blog great job posting

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jakeybrown from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

nice content....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52