Make Everything Your Teacher

in #spirituality6 years ago

Everything in life has something to teach us, if we let it.

I feel like most of us go around thinking "this is what I want to get out of this, this is what I'm supposed to learn." We are projecting our desires onto things before they even have a chance to reveal their true purpose. We are assuming the reason for things before the true reason is shown.

People, jobs, things, events, all of it comes into our lives for a reason. Everything can teach us something. We might think our job is to provide for us, and while it may fill that role, providing doesn't teach us. Maybe our job will help us learn a new skill, maybe it will be the reason we meet an important figure in our lives, maybe it will show us how to value our health.

Life is always teaching, the big key for me is to remain open to the lessons. To stop assuming I know what's what and to listen instead. Life is a school for our souls, and most of us are chatting in class instead of paying attention. Most of us are thinking up what to do next and what we need, but life is always bringing us the next lesson, it's always showing us the way. And these lessons stick around until we learn.

mikael-kristenson-242070-unsplash.jpg
The World is Our Classroom
Image Source


One thing we can all do is learn to let go of things that aren't serving us.

I'm pretty sure all of us have things, people, or jobs that we have kept around that keep us in stagnation. Let's get rid of them, it will simplify life.

For example, I have a good deal of clutter around the house, excess stuff I don't need anymore. Things I bought hoping to use that i never do, but I hang onto because I might in the future. It's time to get rid of it! Spring cleaning, garage sale, give it away, that's my plan. In all aspects of my life I'm going to start doing this, because if I really want to grow, I need to be able to release the things that are holding me back.

Letting go itself is a part of learning, certain things stand in our way to teach us we can leave them behind if we have the courage and need to do so. Sometimes we feel like we have to hold on or there will be repercussions that will destroy us in some way. That's never the case, but our mind likes to tell us that it is. Be fearless and be free of outside influence. Look inside and find what YOU need to grow and learn, and if the things and people and places you've surrounded yourself with are no longer teaching release them. It will open the door for things that will.

Thanks for reading,

@jakeybrown

Sort:  

Hey Jake, apologies not been spending as much time on here of late and after getting round the music dudes it leaves little time for others activity. THAT SAID... always great to read you posts and always something worthy and thought provoking.
Currently listening to lots of Rupert as i do my daily decorating/carpentry work. Funny how coming round to it seems so fresh. What I'm getting so much more now is the letting go of the 'need' to change anything. Really feels like Its getting thorugh more.
Letting go, for me feels like letting go of my attachment to thought-feelings. Just letting them be, but not losing identity in them.
My ramble over :) Cheers

Don't even worry about it, funny a few months ago you were talking about not being able to gain traction, now you're killing it with the music! I need to stop by your blog more often too, I've been lightening up on steemit a smidge too for sustainability.

It's funny how we come back to the same subject matter later and it makes way more sense. Just shows you are making "progress" and understanding more clearly.

Just letting them be, but not losing identity in them.

Kind of like noticing how the thoughts feel? That's what I'm getting lately, I wrote something on it. Basically I look at the thoughts as feelings, sounds similar to what you mention here.

Glad to see ya!

Great post @jakeybrown I cannot disagree with anything you have said, and I really liked this "Life is a school for our souls" So true, we can learn so much for the people around us, our experiences, what we do and where we go. We just have to be open minded and remember to make time for people and experiences even when they are not our "cup of tea".. The declutter the house point is very interesting too.... I could do with doing a serious Spring clean myself!!

Ya, just because we dislike something doesn't mean we can completely ignore it. People who we don't like will always come into our lives, the challenge is to love even if we don't particularly enjoy them

Exactly... 👍

I love your articles just from the headlines... I really need to write something soon as well! Maybe I shouldn't be too ambitious and divide those broad topics that I really want to write about into smaller, more easily digestable sections.

I really wish I could make a spring cleaning to get rid of useless items in my schedule... but it actually seems that writing Steemit posts is the luxury I can't afford right now. Have we invented the pill to substitute eating and sleeping yet? Well, for now, I will just settle for inspiring trains of thoughts like the one I've just read : )

divide those broad topics that I really want to write about into smaller, more easily digestable sections.

Good idea, you'd get more exposure from multiple articles anyway!

Have we invented the pill to substitute eating and sleeping yet?

I find meditation helps me get 5 hours and feel fine, last night I was up til about 1 and woke up at 6:30.

Thanks, glad you liked it!

Well said...we all need to pay attention to what life teaches us from within as individuals instead of always as a group or social events. Resteemed

Thanks for the resteem! It's very easy to pay attention to only the outside, looking within is more fruitful though :)

I really enjoyed this post. I am consistently looking for things that no longer serve me, so I can free up time, space and energy for what really matters. The process of letting go can be challenging, but I'm getting better at it. :)

That's great, I'm the same, letting go took me a long time to really even understand how. Sometimes I'd stumble into it, but now I'm much better. It's made me temporarily struggle to be social though, I'm sure that will come around

Listen and you will learn. Although I’m more of a collector than you.

Nothing wrong with collecting, as long as you get something out of the collection

You are totally right, we can learn things from everyone! Including children!

Everyone of us has something unique from which other people can learn and grow as a person, in fact, I think we do this (learning from other people around us) without even realizing.

Oh absolutely, that's why people always say to have good influences around :)

teachers are the main persons for a nation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61574.21
ETH 3389.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52